Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Brownsburg, IN
Students enrolled: 709

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brownsburg West Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Brownsburg West Middle School. My child moved into this school last year from being in a private school since preschool. She said to me one day that she feels BWMS teachers have better control over the students than the private school. There seems to be a no tolerance policy which gives the teacher a greater opportunity to focus on those students that are there to learn. Brownsburg increased it's ISTEP scores making them one of the most desirable school systems in the state of Indiana.

Brownsburg West Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
I have had three children go through this school (one still there). It is fantastic. Everyone from the Principal, the Dean, the counselors, teachers and school nurse are wonderful. I have one child with pretty severe ADHD and they have done a great job at helping us help him.


Brownsburg West Middle School 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
We have enjoyed BWMS for the past 3 years. My son has enjoyed his high ability classes, the chance to take Chinese, and get involved in choir. The activities available for all grade levels give the kids a chance to hang out after school. I do wish the principal was more involved in ensuring grades were entered timely by the teachers, but other than that, I really cannot complain. My son is excelling and blows the standardized tests out of the water.

Brownsburg West Middle School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
I love the school students are great and they teach great as well school turn into most of the time but when to learn this where to go :)

Brownsburg West Middle School 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Brownsburg West Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
We moved from Florida to Indiana 3 years ago. One of my kids has learning disabilities and she was so behind. Now 3 years later, she is almost at the proper grade level, thanks to BWMS. They have excellent programs for the children and the teachers are excellent! I rate this school a five start school.

Brownsburg West Middle School 3

Posted January 15, 2008
- a student
The academics in my school are fine- the teachers usually have a great lesson plan prepared (well, most) and class is semi-enjoyable (as enjoyable as school can be). But after 2 1/2 years at this school, I have to say that the principal/vice-principal/dean relationship with the students is ridiculous. The OLWEUS bullying program is one of the stupidest things I have ever heard of, and yet we are continually forced to 'learn' about it in homeroom, of all classes.

Brownsburg West Middle School 1

Posted September 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Brownsburg West Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 06, 2007
- a parent
The academic dean at this school is very rude to parents. She often talks down to us as if we are too stupid to understand the rules of 'her' school. In my few experiences with her, it is as if she thinks that because I am a minority, she has to overexplain, so as to avoid further issue. Her condescension is becoming the issue. I can't imagine my other children going through this school if she is still the dean.

Brownsburg West Middle School 1

Posted August 14, 2006
- a parent
My experience with BWestMidSchool was horrible. My son is a special ed student with several learning disabilities as well as personal needs. I held several meetings w/teachers & staff to help my son do better in school. The end result of each meeting was the teachers telling me they just didn't have the time to give my son the attention he needs involving his education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brownsburg West Middle School
1555 South Odell Street, Brownsburg, IN  46112
(317) 852-3143
Last modified Brownsburg West Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brownsburg West Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top