Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carmel Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1170 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

It is like a dream! We came from Brazil and enrolled our kids on Carmel Middle School (7th and 8th grade). Since the beginning, the access to the website and then, from the very first day we arrived, the building, staff, teachers, the way they deal with us, letting us informed of what is going on the school, let us feeling as we were living a dream, having the opportunity to give our children one of the best education in the world! Thank you so much Carmel Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

Carmel Middle School emphasizes academics, as well as sports. Many of the teams are undefeated and are known across the state. The academic teams usually place first to third and most qualify for state competitions. The principal is really involved and teachers are supportive and incorporate fun into the learning system. Honors programs are availible and their is a diverse selection of extracurricular activities, ranging from book clubs to anime clubs to student council to games club to speech teams to math counts to trak to cheerleading. Their is no bullying and it's not all about being rich.


Posted February 8, 2011

This school is horrible, the bullying is uncontrollable, and the majority of the kids are rude and sarcastic, the teachers are good at what they do but this school is absolutely horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

The person who said its all about money... its not.... Im filthy rich and people know that but im an outcast. If you ask me, Im totally fine with it because I know I go to a great and school with amazing teachers and great friends that I met there.


Posted March 28, 2010

this school is all about money if u have money u are popular if u do not have money u r a out cast
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

Carmel Middle school is a great school with nice teachers such as Mr. Miller and Miss. Stroh. They have a lot of good computers, big lockers, and more. The sports are also very good. I am very happy with CMS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

i think that the principal is okay but the eighth grade teachers are the best. Mr. Matthews, Mrs. Campbell, Mrs. Kay, and Mrs. ElRite aret the best teachers this school has to offer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2008

I love my teachers! They're not boring, so they make me want to learn more when they aren't boring!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2007

This school, and all of Carmel clay schools are superb. The teachers are great, the schools are clean. My one concern is 91% is Caucasian. We need a more diverse student race. Carmel Middle School has over 100 new, flat screened computers, nice big lockers, new desks, chairs, rooms, and more. I recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2005

this school was not a good fit for my son the teachers that taught math sometimes complained if you asked for help but they give you the help but they were not supportive the science history and english teahers also were not suppotive they had a wide varity of electives and the teachers in electives were very nice and supportive this includes music and art we were dissapointed with sports the track team was no cut but they would not let him do the discus there is also a variety of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2004

Carmel Junior High School has helped my daughters become a the great people they are today. They have both raised ISTEP+ scores since they've joined. My girls both love the teachers, the people, the atomsphere. CJHS is a great place to learn and I sincerely hope you look into joining the continuing cycle of success and excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Both my son and daughter have benefited greatly from their attendance at Carmel Junior High School. The school provides a diverse population in a safe environment. The teachers they have had are engaging, compassionate, and well versed in their subject matter. The athletic program and music department are both outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 72%
Asian 8% 2%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Black 3% 12%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 South Guilford Road
Carmel, IN 46032
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 846-7331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Midwest Academy
Carmel, IN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT