Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Prairie Trace Elementary School 2

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter had a wonderful kindergarten experience. Then in 1st grade she had a new teacher (new to city, she had a new baby, she didn't even have a home yet, she was commuting whilst living with her mom on the other side of town, then would divulge problems with moving and the new home to the children) the classroom was bland, she didn't decorate much, often left my child bored and would recommend computer games, and I did not see any improvement from kindergarten in reading or writing. She switched for math and she did very well. The new teacher was hired last minute Poor decision making on the hiring retention and administration, I believe.

Prairie Trace Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter regressed this last year. The teacher wanted to give her busy work. Her handwriting was worse and stories that she wrote were shorter than kindergarten.


Prairie Trace Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
I don't think it was fair to my daughter's class to have such an unprepared teacher. My daughter regresses this last year, sincerely.

Prairie Trace Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Two of my children attended Prairie Trace. My older son transferred in in 4th grade. He needed academic support and PTE did a great job of providing it along with yearly meetings to go over goals and progress. My other son attended first grade at Prairie Trace. He received a top notch education while there in a caring environment. I especially appreciate what he learned now that we are at another school and he is clearly at least a year ahead of the curriculum being taught. I hope to return to PTE in a year or 2 and hope he will not be too far behind when he returns.

Prairie Trace Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a teacher
I completed my educational administration/leadership internship training at Prairie Trace Elementary School. The principal and assistant principal along with all of the other teachers and staff were so welcoming, professional, and extremely dedicated to the success of each student. The school building and surroundings itself are very warm, inviting and safe. The school's PTO is very involved in the school and continues to enhance the process of learning at Prairie Trace. I would highly recommend this school to any parent.


Prairie Trace Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
My child attends this school. It is a great school. They really have a lot going on for the kids. The PTO is awsome! But, On the other hand my child can not get the help he needs. He needs speech and he is on the boarder of needing it and they will not do it. But, they will be the first to offer reading or math if the student is at risk for the ISTEPS. This is probably why Carmel does well. But, they need to look at other issues.

Prairie Trace Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
Two of our three kids attended this school and we loved it. Communication is excellent between the teachers and parents and it has a very active PTO.

Prairie Trace Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
This is a fantastic elementary school. Our son attended the full K-5 at Prairie Trace. During that time, there have been the usual staff changes as people get promoted, etc. Each time, the new teacher or principal would continue the same high standards of teaching excellence in a nurturing environment. The PTO is second-to-none. Our son thoroughly enjoyed each of his teachers and he's thrived academically at Prairie Trace. I can't express enough how thoroughly satisfied we have been with the entire experience in the last 6 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Trace Elementary School
14200 River Road, Carmel, IN  46033
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (317) 571-7925
Last modified Prairie Trace Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top