Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Options Charter School - Carmel

Charter | 9-12 | 160 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Carmel

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $250,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2013

The Options Charter School is excellent. It has helped my daughter so much. She was failing classes in public school and when she started at the charter school, she excelled in classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

Our children have been attending here for several years now and we have found that they offer a diverse curriculum, appropriate emphasis on academics, and an amazing sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Options is a great choice to have in this area. The school was started by a friend who has an incredible passion for educational choices. I don't think you'll find a staff that works harder and is more committed.


Posted April 20, 2011

Overall it is a great school, my daughter attended Options for her last 2 years of high school (moving from Sheridan HS) and got accepted into IU, one of the best choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Options Charter High School offers a unique, personalized small school climate. the teachers get highly involved in all the processes of educating he "whole student." Not everyone can handle it... it's not just an easier alternative,; but if your student can't deal with the overwhelming size of the local public school system, this is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

My son was not doing to well in Carmel Public Schools. So he decided to attend Options, at first it was iffy BUT now that he has good grades and likes school i see no problem. Some others say that the parent involvement and contacts are bad, they just do not know how to look. I would recommend this for a student who wants to go to collage or dose not want to go. They are very connected to Purdue and Ball State. At first i didn't believe that my son never had homework but i called them to see what was happening and they said that they do in class work only so no one has to struggle to get a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Greatest School. I could not explain how much of a better experience this school was than Carmel. Teachers are great. I personally recommend this school to anyone that does not like traditional public school. because the teachers and administrators up there are disrespectful where at Options the teachers are very friendly and teacher to student relationships are close. This is definitely the school for the best. This school gave me a second chance at graduating. Clutch decisions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

My daughter graduated from Options a few years ago. I regret sending her there. There was no discipline, low expectations, and too much freedom given to children who couldn't handle it. Even the most disruptive children were not kicked out of the school. Her grades improved, but only because if you breathed, you got a good grade. It did not prepare her for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I go to this school as of august 13, 2009 It's an alright school. The teachers are laid back and the students are generous. I would recommend this school to other high schoolers who have a hard time in public schools. Trust me, you will like this school. It's pretty cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

This school has been a godsend for my daughter. Her interest in school has never been so high. They work hard to get children who have been beaten down by the public school systems to learn to enjoy education again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I have been extremely disappointed with this school. My child is a bright child who just didn't fit in socially with others at his previous school so we tried the 'Option'. This school has very little structure and allows students way too much freedom. The teachers demand no respect from their students and do not attempt to communicate problems with parents until the situation is way out of hand. Although they have a teacher assigned as an advisor, the advisor hardly knows my child and has established no rapport with him. Trying to get anyone to return a phone call or an e-mail is very frustating and not at all timely.I definitely would not recommend it to anyone who cares about the education/special needs of their child. My child has rarely brought any work home. This school fosters unrealistic study skills/habits especially for the college bound student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I have been very disappointed in this school. I have found that the kids have quite a bit of goof off time which could be devoted to more academics. Kids are not respectful. I find it very alarming that since this school is already set up for troubled teens that they allow this type of unsupervised freedom. The teachers/staff do not have control on the students behavior.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 5, 2007

Options Charter School in Carmel has been the answer to our prayers. The Carmel public school administrators harsh and uncaring attitudes almost destroyed our son. After one semester at Options, our son's self-esteem and attitude toward school and life have improved tremendously. The teachers at Options seem well qualified, truly care about their students, and will go the extra mile to try to help them succeed. My son is challenged academically, but not overwhelmed. Although they do not have many extracurricular activities or sports, they have provided my son with a place where he feels valued, successful, and safe. The administrators also take the time to get to know each student and their parents. Whereas the public school administrators instilled fear and distrust in my son, Option's administrators have instilled trust, respect, and the perspective that they truly want to help him be the best that he can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

My daughter just started this school and we have never had a less stressful school beginning. This schools seems to be an 'oasis in the desert' for struggling teens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2004

Excellent learning institution for my ADD sophomore son. Low student to teacher ratio. Plenty of help available when requested. Looking forward to expanded facilities in January. Expect more Ball State involvement in future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Great school for students who have struggled in the traditional school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
0%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation

This school

 
 
27%

State Average

 
 
64%
Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 72%
Multiracial 8% 4%
Black 6% 12%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A46%
Special education 27%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Barbara Maschino
Fax number
  • (317) 846-3806

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

530 West Carmel Drive
Carmel, IN 46032
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 815-2098

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Midwest Academy
Carmel, IN




North Central High School
Indianapolis, IN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT