Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Clay Elementary
Grateful to: Parent

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
The parents were a wonderful support system at this school. They make it a great experience.

West Clay Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
Some of the teachers at West Clay are talented, compassionate and caring. Other teachers are allowed to continue treating students inappropriately despite parent complaints. The Principal is not an effective administrator. Effectiveness starts at the top and if the Principal isn't effective, the remainder of the staff doesn't have the appropriate support.


West Clay Elementary
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
The take home assignments were too much. Projects should be done in the school environment, not taken home for the parents to do. My child completed all their assignments on their own but it was obvious that not all parents believed the same should be true. By having projects go home, it does not show a true effort by the student.

West Clay Elementary
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
There lack of support would does cause a student to be persistent. I don't think it developed it in a good way.

West Clay Elementary
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
It's important to model empathy and compassion and this school did not model good behaviors in this area.


West Clay Elementary
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
When being honest about needs, we were demeaned and issues were not resolved. They have policies in place but do not uphold them.

West Clay Elementary 2

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
Administration and some of the support staff were not supportive. It was not a positive experience for my child.

West Clay Elementary 2

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at this school, but we have been in the area for 5 years now. My child attended private preschools in the area prior to attending WCE. We have been less than impressed with his Kindergarten teacher. Additionally, he receives special services through the CCS district and while the school administrators were in possession of his IEP and all of his school records 4 months prior to him beginning the school year, they waited *MONTHS* into the school year before reviewing his IEP and starting his services. I provided 2 stars for the school, because I believe there are some wonderful and passionate teachers at this school as well as a very involved community of parents. However, I'm not as impressed especially provided that this is purportedly one of the *best* school districts not just in the Greater Indianapolis Area, but in all of Indiana. Please make sure to speak to really do your research before enrolling your child at West Clay Elementary.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Clay Elementary
3495 West 126th Street, Carmel, IN  46032
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (317) 733-6500
Last modified West Clay Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top