Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clarksville Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 408 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2013

Clarksville High School is staffed by wonderful teachers and has an outstanding principal. I am proud and happy to come in to work each day, and I'm proud of our students and the things we've achieved at CHS. Recent turnover at the school has brought a better, more progressive faculty, and I'm glad to count myself among their number. It's a great place to work and it's great to watch things get better and better every year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2013

I actually attend Clarksville Highschool and I can tell you for a fact we do actually have many AP and Advanced classes we do extreamly well at customizing every single student into the classes they want to be in. Every sport AND theatre, arts, etc... Need funding it's no ones fault there is more people to raise the money that are in sports I'm in both and we do have to work hard to raise money but neither get special treatment. In fact our principal who does actually care about his students is buying the choir department new piano because ours went out, even though we have a back up that works just fine. Clarksville Highschool is one of the best schools around come look at our plays, they have all been amazing, or watch us play basketball we just went to regionals and state. The learning is is a huge bonus. They actually take time to teach as a class, not just pass out papers to watch us fail. And when it comes to our councilor, this is to the previous parents, your children have lied to you, very well I must add, I'm a junior and she has been working with me since FRESHMAN year about college and she knows I'm not interested yet I get called up like everyone else to talk about it
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2006

I am the parent of a recent CHS graduate. Academically the school does a good job. The weaknesses I experienced and/or noted were: the counselor is way overworked and can't cover enough college material for the senior class. The band, choral and theatre depts. are always in need of funding. The majority of funding goes into sports at this school. The other depts., while well taught, just never have enough money to do anything substantial. Like other schools, you'll find a few teachers who could perform on a more professional level. The administration does not enforce the dress code - esp. on short skirts and low-cut tops. The way some of the kids are allowed to walk around in the school is shameful. In conclusion, my child enjoyed the four years at CHS but, also saw where a lot of improvement could be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

I am a student at Clarksville High School and I honestly think that the school does a very poor job. The principal really doesn't care about the students. most of the teachers try very hard to help their students learn, but it is very hard when they sometimes have to buy the materials themselves. The school refuses to fund its music department on vital things that they need. We need many new posture chairs and they will not help us. they try to stop bad things from happening at the school but i feel that they do not try hard enough. I feel that my scool is a really horrible place and i think that i deserve better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2005

Clarksville High School is a small community school. On a scale from 1 to 10, 1 being the worst, the administration would score a 2...while the teachers would score at least a high 8 as they continue to struggle to help students succeed. The school cannot compete with other schools on academic or athletic levels. The school district continues to ignore the problems at this small community school. With a student body of a little over 400 students and small classrooms you would think that the administration would be aware of all happenings in and around their facility - instead there is drugs and smoking in the bathrooms, students leaving and returning in the middle of the day, and discipline policies that are truly in need of change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

I think Clarksville School systems in general helps build confidence and set goals in our children, the teachers have really helped my children deal with everyday issues just by lending a caring ear. I would recommend the school system to any parent. We bought a home in Clarksville just for the school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Clarksville High School does not do anything to get their students into college. There is only one counselor, and she is greatly overworked. Also, the number of advanced-level courses is very low, while many neighboring schools offer a host of AP courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

Clarksville High School falls behind in promoting continuing their education beyond high school. The people in charge of college preparation do not do a very good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

there has been a few problems with some teachers and my child this yar I fell like she has been singled out do to her race and gender. Some male teachers single out the females and show favortisum to the males. I would like to see more efforts made in this area.. thanks.. a concerned parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
18%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
30%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

51%

Average SAT score

474

Graduation rate

96.5%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
57%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
44%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.5
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
17
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
69%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 72%
Black 9% 12%
Multiracial 8% 4%
Hispanic 5% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A46%
Special education 17%N/A14%
English learners 3%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Dr Dot Lewis Dr
Clarksville, IN 47129
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 282-8231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Old Corden Porter School
Jeffersonville, IN




Jeffersonville High School
Jeffersonville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT