Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love St. Peter's. They firmly believe in putting God first in everything and teaching the children that same logic. I have had two children at St. Peter's and I can't say enough positive things about this school. The teachers are attentive and form wonderful lasting relationships with the students. They are the first to notify the parents if they notice the child struggling with work and are quick to remedy any issue that comes up. I have heard of some clique issues throughout the different grades, which happens in every school, but we were fortunate that neither of my children's classes had that issue. My daughter is now in high school and her class ended up split between 4 schools, but they are still close. St. Peter's has done an amazing job building friendships that last way past elementary and Jr. High. I would highly recommend St. Peter's to anyone looking for a great Christian oriented school with outstanding academics.

St Peter's Lutheran School 2

Posted September 08, 2013
- a community member
St. Peter's is... complicated. For the younger grades, it can be great academically. Class sizes are small compared to the public schools, parents are generally involved, and much individualized attention is given to those who need it. Most of the faculty is delightful. HOWEVER, in the upper grades, there are some serious problems. FIrst: the social aspect. St. Peter's student body is composed of grades that have about 40 kids each in them. Many of these kids stay in school together for a full 9 years, meaning that rivalries get rehashed, year after year. This is also a relatively small social pool, and if a kid gets evicted from the well-established cliques, they have no friends. Any report of bullying often leads to worse treatment of the victim by there peers. Besides this, academic opportunities are better in the BCSC public schools when kids get older. For instance, St. Peter's kids can't take a foreign language in the 7th grade or high school biology in the 8th, both of which they can do in the public schools. As someone who completed ACE, the academic challenge program, I can assure you that as of 2011 it was all busy work. In short: choose very carefully.


St Peter's Lutheran School 2

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
Academically, St. Peter's is a good school, but there is a serious problem with bullying here. The administrators refuse to address the problems, then blame the victims. Yes, their enrollment numbers are up, but only because of a new voucher system in our state. The new transfers from public school mask the numbers of families that have left St. Peter's because of bullying.

St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
St. Peter's is an OUTSTANDING Christian school. Great academics, great leadership, great teachers, great parents, and great students, all operating under the umbrella of Christ, truly make St. Peter's a great place for my children to attend. I wouldn't have my children attend anywhere else!

St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
I'm sharing what I have observed the past 7 yrs. that my child has been at SPLS. ~ critical thinking academics with high ISTEP scores and students who are well prepared to excel in high school ~ daily use of technologies such as MOBI's, clickers, smart boards, etc. ~ sports such as basketball, cheer, the only school program in the city for volleyball beginning in 5th grade, football and track coordinated with CMS ~ extra curricular activites - band, choir, math and spell bowl, legos, academic summer camps, etc. ~ highly trained caring staff, many with masters degrees ~ open and loving environment where your child is known by the principal and most teachers ~ Christian based program where faith is applied daily ~ always available principal who knows all students and continues to guide and lead the school in a positive way ~ team who consistently prays for every


St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
It is hard to quantify what St Peters means to my children and my family. I will attempt to do justice to St Peters with my literary skills but I fear that my attempt will fall short. St Peters is a Lutheran based school that is committed to the educational and spiritually needs of its students. I have found that the curriculum is geared around these fundamentals and that the mix of these is near perfect. The school is staffed by state licensed teachers and administrators who share a passion for a Christ centered education. Communication between the staff and parents is exceptional. We receive emails about what is going on weekly if not daily. I could go on and on but the bottom line is this, St Peters is a school for those committed to Christ and the best Education and experience possible for their children.

St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
I have had several opportunities to move over the past few years, but have chosen to stay in Columbus because of St. Peter's Lutheran School. There is no other place that I would like my children to attend school. The love of Christ is intentionally shared every day. Outstanding academics and teachers who really care are also hallmarks of this fantastic Lutheran school.

St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
St. Peter's is an amazing Christian school both spiritually and academically. The teachers are passionate about caring for and educating the students. They communicate well with parents and are increasingly using differentiated education to meet each child's needs. Wonderful pieces of technology are used in the classrooms. Curriculum is reviewed and updated regularly. This year there is an amazing new math curriculum which is sure to better prepare my children for the real world of math. The principal is VERY visible, approachable, and easy to communicate with. He works very hard and is extremely dedicated. The extra curricular activities are OK, coaches are hardworking volunteers. There is a wonderful relationship between St. Peter's and the public Central Middle School for some junior high academics and extra curricular activities as well. You'd be hard pressed in most communities to find a Lutheran school of this caliber. We are blessed!


St Peter's Lutheran School 1

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
At one time St Peters was a truly wonderful school to attend. The school is no longer a true Lutheran school, it is turning into a charter school. Bullying gets brushed aside and the ones targeted get blamed. Others get punished when the teachers become overwhelmed due to other students poor behavior. My kids would cry everyday because they hated going there and begged to not go. There are several other families whose children were the same way due to things going on there. Take a look at the enrollment numbers, that should give you a good idea on when the problems started getting worse. The numbers don't lie.

St Peter's Lutheran School 5

Posted July 13, 2010
- a parent
A wonderful school! Excellent teachers who bring their hearts and souls with them and embrace the diversity of the children and their learning techniques while encouraging their faith and their love of one another. The principal is hands on and completely available to the parents. The parents are involved, supportive, and creative forces supporting the teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Peter's Lutheran School
719 5th Street, Columbus, IN  47201
(812) 372-5266
Last modified St Peter's Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St Peter's Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.