Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abc Learn Cntr/Stewart Elementary

Private | PK-6 | 200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $119,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $805.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2011

This school is excellent . Small classes. Engaged teacher. They see the individual person in every student and make them do their best. Our son has developed very good and has got high results, but maybe sometimes a bit to much homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I started my oldest son in the 'two's' program a few years ago and now I my youngest child is starting in the Fall. The teachers and staff are amazing. Everyone knows your child and YOU. Parents are expected to play a significant role in their child's education so you are informed every step of the way. There is absolutely NO comparision--this is the best primary education in town. It's a bit 'pricey' but I think if I had to, I would sell plasma to send my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

I love this school and my both children are doing great. I want parents to know that it is worth it. Experience your kids love for learning in a progressive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

It is a good school but the administration leaves a great deal to be desired. Academically it is wonderful is you can get beyond the control issues that the administrator has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

Students benefit from a low student-teacher ratio and learn at their own pace. They can move ahead in some subjects without leaving their age group in the classroom. Teachers really know the students and help them grow academically, personally and in their study skills. Lots of clubs and activities, including athletics. Lots of diversity in the student body- students from over thirty countries are represented. A magical place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

Great Montessori teaching techniques, for students 2 years old and up. The children who attend this school are far more advanced than their peers in public schools. They understand the basics of algebra and trig at the KG level. They understand the concept of homework and work ethics at a young age. The school tuition is quite reasonable compared to other private schools. After schol programs include chess. Music, language and Art are impressive. Sports could be improved upon.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 74%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Black 2% 12%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Multiracial 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Mike Gorday
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • Other Montessori
Fax number
  • (812) 342-0296

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6691 Indiana 46
Columbus, IN 47201
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 342-3029

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Csa Lincoln Campus
Columbus, IN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT