Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 792 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2012

This is our 2nd year at Parkside Elementary. My kids are in 1st and 3rd grade. I was impressed with how well my child learned to read by the end of his Kindergarten year. Parkside has Accelerated Math and Reading programs. My child in 3rd grade also has Mrs. Watts. I'm excited to see how much my son learns his year, she is an excellent teacher. I appreciate the 2 free after school programs "Jump Thumpers" (jump roping), and an exercise program. I think Jump Thumpers was $5, but that is just the cost of the jump rope, and the trophy they get to keep. Excellent School!! We will miss it, when we move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

My son started at Parkside in 2nd grade. We had Mr. Brown. After a horrible last school, I was very nervous about a new school. Mr. Brown was such a great teacher. We were so blessed to have him last year. He helped my son - a lot! If there was ever an issue he called me. My son has autism & not only was Mr. Brown ALWAYS in contact, but so were the wonderful ladies from the resource team. Nancy Connors, Mrs. A, Mrs. Rubel. Everyone was wonderful. Always there to help, even giving out their home phone numbers to help after school. Not only did my son learn a lot, but I really felt as though the teachers not only cared about their students but loved them. The office staff is great as well and Mr. Smith (the principal) is as nice as can be. This school is great - challenging academically, has wonderful resources, an awesome staff, and who could forget that great playground?! We can't wait for next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Very political school, obviously interracial parents are noticed and judged through their children. I would have to stick to the below average rating due to the fact that the children are mislead into trying out for different activities and chosen by whom the judges know. If it is due to the studends grades and they know before hand then my thought is that the student should not be allowed to even try out, and keep the child from being humiliated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Parkside is an A+++++ school! My daughter went there from K-3 and my son went there for K. The only reason why they aren't there still is that we had to move. At Parkside, mostly my teacher experiences were good. This school definitely operates at a more advanced level than other schools in the district. It also excels in special education, with a special inclusion program in that area, special reading groups, and tutors. Parkside has numerous after school activites such as choir, sports, and strings instruments(violin, viola, cello). Twice a year the kids can sign up for special after hours programming, which they love. One really great added plus to Parkside is the 1 1/2 acre playground which is huge, handicapped accessible, and has a 25,000 ft. rubber checkered surface for safety, a rock wall, & more! Overall Awesome School, seriously the best in Columbus and the best neighborhood too!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

Great school--probably the best in Columbus! Mrs. Watts is the best teacher ever!!!! 3rd grade was a pleasure with her. Class sizes aren't bad and staff are, for the most part, parent friendly and helpful. PTO can be clique-ish, but atmosphere of the school makes up for that. Superb art, music, library and physical education teachers. Overall great school in a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Parkside is a great school overall. The younger grades (K-3) seems to be a little better quality than the older grades. Fourth grade is very weak at Parkside. It is a safe school for students, and most teachers are very nice and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

it is a great school! although some teacher are mean Mrs. Watts is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

This is a great school. We have a 1st and 5th grade student. There are a lot of chances for parent involvement and extra activites
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

My wife and I have 2 chidren who attended Parkside Elem. for a short time. They have now both graduated high school, my son is in the Marine Corp., my daughter is a senior at Anderson University. We also had 2 grand children who attended temporarily, 1 nephew who started in 3rd. grade and is now in middle school. In addition, we had 2 foster kids attend for a short time and our overall opinion of the school, the teachers, the curriculum and the standards is extremely high. We would have no hesitation in recommending this school to anyone who has Elem. age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 72%
Asian 13% 2%
Hispanic 12% 10%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 0%
Black 1% 12%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A46%
Special education 13%N/A14%
English learners 14%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Parkside Drive
Columbus, IN 47203
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 376-4314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Csa Lincoln Campus
Columbus, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT