Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avicenna Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
My children have attended this school since 2010. I can honestly say, without a doubt, that the science education presented to the students in the school is without compare in the area. I understand that in prior years, there was some concern regarding the administration, but that is no longer an issue. The administration is involved, present and always communicating with the parents. The school seems to meet the needs of all students with exception to maybe special needs students. Due to the small class sizes, there doesn't seem to be a lot of extra attention that can be given to these students. The teachers do a great job at trying, from what I've heard, but in the end they still don't have a trained, licensed Special Education teacher to help those students. This school is wonderful and I wouldn't pay tuition to send my child anywhere else.

Avicenna Academy 1

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
With this school you never know what's going on. I was not satisfied at all with this school. It's ran by people that do behave islamic values. This school needs big improvement. My child didn't get much technology or science like they get at public schools. For a islamic school they don't provide much islamic schooling.


Avicenna Academy 5

Posted February 27, 2010
- a parent
My child and I love this school! High quality education where the children are exposed to Islamic learning. The school makes an effort to provide students with all sorts of opportunities and learning experiences. Technology is state of the art. I also feel like I am always welcome to partake in my child's learning, which is most important to me. The teachers provide one-on-one instruction and tailor their teaching methods to each student's needs. I am very happy and comfortable with the school environment and setting. Also beautiful building!

Avicenna Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2010
- a parent
My children are doing great at Avicenna. They love the school, and I am very happy with their progress and the school environment. Teachers use new and exciting teaching methods, such as technology in their lessons and the environomobile. The children are challegened and interested. I find it easy to communicate with my child's teacher, too. I am thankful I have found this school for my kids.

Avicenna Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 29, 2010
- a parent
My children are very happy and I am very pleased with the school. Teachers are great and are constantly contacting me. Academic experience is wonderful espescailly with the use of the mobi electronic board in class. Best of all the opening of the library this year and use of technology in general. This school has brought up the best manners and Islamic characters within my children. (Thank you teachers and Administrators).


Avicenna Academy 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
IF you like a family environment ? Then this is the school for you. The teachers treat our kids like their own ( with patients,love and respect).

Avicenna Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
This school doesn't know what they are doing. Parents are not informed about anything! The administration doesn't know how to run a school.

Avicenna Academy 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
My kids love this school. Teachers are great.


Avicenna Academy 0
no rating

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
I was not happy with the organization of the school, pretty chaotic. Teachers and administration also seemed to never know what things were going on and when. Also during the time I went there, Arabic was cut back to twice a week... something most parents were unaware of, or informed of.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avicenna Academy
9803 Colorado Street, Crown Point, IN  46307
(219) 736-7100
Last modified Avicenna Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-7
Avicenna Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.