Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Culver Academies

Private | 9-12

 
 

Living in Culver

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $99,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $663.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 13, 2014

As a former Alumni of Culver Military Academy, I would like to say i'm embarrassed of what Culver has become. I agree 100% with the last review. When I attended this school in the late 60's it was a place where boys would become respectful young men. When I went back to see the campus recently, I was so disappointed with the military program at Culver and how disrespectful many students were. It's very sad to see what this school has become, just a bunch of disrespectful rich kids roaming the halls of a once prestigious institution of learning. I don't recommend sending any child here these days. You can't even call it a military school anymore, it's just a boarding school for wealthy youth. Also, the staff are very greedy and care more about getting money than educating your child. The campus may still be nice but thats all Culver has going for them these days!


Posted March 31, 2014

I have been a student at Culver for three years and have been successful academically. But with that being said we are NOT a military school. All we do is wear a military style uniform and have a parade once In a while so to the public it looks like were some prestigious military academy. The days of being a military academy are long over for Culver and we need to be honest with ourselves. Most of my peers lack respect and couldn't last a day in a real military high school. If your seeking a school to better yourself and become a leader this isn't the right fit! I have nothing against this school but am just being honest as the school fools on looking students as well as formal alums. We are a prep school nothing else.


Posted February 16, 2014

Is it legal to have these kids in dorms with no supervision at night and on weekends? Many of these kids are 14-15 years old and have never been away from home before. I had a friend that sent her child there for a few years and she felt her child spent a lot of time alone and no one really reached out to him. This includes not just the kids, but counselors and teachers. He ended up leaving after 2 years because he was miserable and definitely not worth $40,000 a year. She admits she was fooled by the beauty of the campus. Buyer Beware!


Posted January 15, 2014

Beautiful campus with average facilities. Rowing and tennis facilities are first rate but what percentage of the student body will be able to enjoy them? My biggest concern is the lack of supervision and the way kids can be treated with such little respect by each other and even by Culver staff. The layers of secrecy allow bullying to flourish with an apprehension to tell. The dining hall choices are inferior and does not meet the expectations for a quality boarding school. Like any school, there are excellent teachers, average teachers and below average teachers. I get the impression many of the kids are disconnected to their families which would make boarding a viable option for them. There is a lot of focus on petty things which doesn't allow for enough time to study and sleep. Parents may not know about poor grades until it is too late. It's a tough time for adolescents to leave their families. Everyone runs a risk of losing a year of their lives if you realize your mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

Hate the school and can't wait to get out... Military is the most unjust, self-seeking, and hypocritical system ever established.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2013

Well... Im curently a student and everyone is always molding me to be better so are my counselors who are always in barracks. Are meals are pretty dang good i mean unlimited salds at sald bar sandwiches that you can make you self. Choose milk and choclate milk any juice hotchoclate or gatorade. They hace soup lasanga and pizza which are bet theres only one day every once in a while where it has chicken. im givin everyhhing i could posibbky need to excel here i mean I even have a huge pool or free weight room and cardio room wich are nicer thn any colleges by far. The rooms i will admit are little and they are hot because alumni wont let them put ac in it but hey makes us tougher but we do have heaters for winter.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2013

There is not enough adult supervision and that leads to all kinds of problems. There are great aspects but the lack of adult supervision is the deal breaker. There were too many violent acts against students to make it worth the advantages. High school is the time when parents need to be able to guide and monitor their child's independence. They will never really know what goes on there. Culver works for a few kids but I don't think for most. Safety is a big issue for me and Culver falls very short. There are problems when students are in charge of everything. Too many opportunities for bullies to thrive when adults are not around to supervise. The facilities are not that great for the money. Rooms are small and hot. Dining hall food is terrible. There is too much focus on the uniform and other mindless matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Best decision of my life to attend. Same can be said of my best friend of the past 30 years. My sister regrets not going and I save constantly to try and afford my children the same opportunity to attend summer and or winter school - as I did both. Dedicated faculty, staff, and unparalleled alumni passion.


Posted June 7, 2013

I could not disagree more with the review submitted on 6/5/13. I found that the faculty was deeply engage with the students. My son shared many meals and enrichment sessions with faculty at their homes after hours. While faculty does not technically live on campus, many live in the streets immediately adjacent to the school and are fixtures at after-hours events. There are plenty of supervised activities on weekends including sporting events, shopping and cultural events of campus, parties, and even events at the home of the Head of School. I was equally impressed by the collegiate opportunities Culver afforded my son. He ended up at an Ivy League school and was one of 5 Culver students admitted to that institution. Culver takes their mission to develop body, mind, and spirit seriously and intentionally. They develop young men and women of character who are prepared to chart their course in the world. And no, I am neither a parent of a scholarship kid who feels very lucking in gaining admission or from a fairly ignorant Indiana family as depicted in the post below. I am simply a parent who is grateful that a school like Culver exists.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

At the first meeting with the head of schools, he mentioned if all the parents had drank the Kool-Aid. Most have, rather mindlessly. I doubt if most of the parents truly compared Culver to other midwest prep schools. Their student body consists of scholarship kids (2/3) who feel very lucking in gaining admission, and fairly ignorant Indiana families with few choices of private education. The teachers are living in isolated enviornment and are not accountable to parents. The parents in turn question nothing and the groups are basically a "Ra-Ra" cheer leading section to feel good about their investment and avoid buyers remorse. If you look at the colleges the grads are matriculating to, in comparison to comprable schools, it is pathetic. There is a serious disconnect from the teachers and college placement office. The teachers must feel they should have independance, and aloofness from students as payback for the sacrafice of living in Culver. There are no teachers living on campus and no supervised activities on weekends. Many of the children have not developed the social graces I am accustomed to observing at prep schools. No wonder the other parent complained about bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

The best prep school in the nation and it keeps getting better! Best decision I ever made in sending my two daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

Am so grateful for the environment Culver offers my son. Academics, athletics, clubs, leadership, values, college counseling: Culver has it all very thoughtfully considered. I am in awe of the amazing young man my son is becoming by being part of this very special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Culver Academies is known as one of the top schools in the country. It attracts students from all over the world because of it's superior academic program, leadership training and outstanding athletic opportunities. I have evaluated schools over the past 20 years and found this school to be incredible. Students love learning because their teachers are fully committed and proud they are part of a very select group. I took my Culver bag on a trip and was approached by numerous Culver alumni or people who knew Culver alumni while in airports and cafes in several countries. There is a kinship like nothing I've ever seen. Culver is so much more than a high school. When you go to Culver, you acquire an extended family who will stay with you for the rest of your life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

Horrible experience. My daugher experienced gender bias, was harassed by her male classmates, and continues to be cyberbullied by Culver students long after she left the school. Would not recommend this school to anyone. I don't expect this review will ever see the light of day - Culver's image is carefully sanitized. I only wish the school would put that kind of energy into providing a safe environment for female students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2009

The post before this one compared Culver to Westen Reserve. WRA is a wonderful school and it is good to see the rivalry between the two schools continue to develop. I have known recent parents of WRA and they would not agree with the previuos post. Culver is just so much more than a boarding school and although each school's culture is unique, one just has to look at the financial support of its Alumni to gauge the value they percieve from their attendance at Culver. The school has raised over $300 million in its current campaign and is close to breaking a secondary school fund raising record.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

nothing compared to western reserve acadamy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

All of my family has worked at this institution and both of my children are graduates. No better place to send your kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Culver turned my life around. I lived in an impoverished area of rural North Carolina with not much future despite being musically and academically talented. Being introduced to Culver and its high standards for education, athletics and discipline have made me appreciate what the world has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Culver fully prepares the students for College and beyond. The leadership and discipline learned at Culver truly prepare the student for any of life's challenges.


Posted September 21, 2009

As a CGA grad I have so much to be grateful for, it's an amazing school that allows students to take on so much responsibility and really learn life lessons
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

103%

Average SAT score

1139

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
64%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
0%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.8
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
26
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
91%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 74%
Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 2%
Hispanic 10% 7%
Black 4% 12%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kathleen Lintner
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • TABS
Fax number
  • (574) 842-8161
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Academy Rd
Culver, IN 46511
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 842-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT