Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elkhart

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2012

My family and I love Trinity. If your looking for a school that treats you, and your children, like part of a family you need to be at Trinity. Their dedication to the individual student and how they learn - in conjunction with the efforts of good parents - have lead to children that continually achieve higher scores academically, than that of their public school peers. Most of all, for a family to feel the love of Christ here as we have, trumps everything else. We are so thankful for "our" Trinity, and hope that through time, our family will be able to give back to them, all that they have given to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

I have had my children here for 8 years and have had very few problems. I would highly recommend this school. Tuition can be a little hard for us sometimes, but we think it is worth it. There was one teacher we struggled with, and if you don't attend the church also it is easy to feel like more of an outsider, but sharing a worship experience every week together does form a bond between people that goes deeper than just school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

Trinity is an amazing gift to our family. I love the growth I see in my children, in their faith and overall education. This is truly a family place. The teachers are committed to not only their students , but to all the students. Parental involvement is very much encouraged and welcomed. We are blessed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This is a great church and school community with dedicated teachers and Christ at the forefront of all they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Not impressed. Lots of smoke and mirrors. Many of the parents are very uptight and not living in reality. Let's give this school some of our community's struggling kids and see if they can really help turn things around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

If you have money and are raising your child to believe that they are better than everyone else because they are privileged then by golly this is the place for you! Very cliquish and pitiful for the less than fortunate to be made to feel so inadequate by staff and students alike. I pulled our kids because these people are absolute snobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I don't really know how anyone could rate this school any less. We have recently Graduated one with one still in the 6th grade I would love to give this gift to anyone with children. Not just a Faith based education but a place where children are truly encouraged to be themselves and given the tools to be so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

This is our first year at Trinity and I am very happy so far. I am most impressed at how organized the school is. There are many opportunities for children to partcipate in extracurricular activities and the tuition is affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

My children have attended TLS for the past 5 years. Our family feels absolutely blessed by the teachers, administration and families at the school. The atmosphere is positive and encourages individual growth. Words can not explain the comfort we have knowing our children our receiving the best education in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

This school is amazing. My kids have gone here for nearly 8 years, since the age of 3 (pre-school) and I have not had a single problem. The teachers are wonderful, the administration is great and the education is first rate! It has been well worth the money in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

The school is grossly overcrowded. Parental involvement is dismal. Discipline is lax and bullying is a problem. Remedial help for struggling students is nonexistent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

I have to say that this is the best school my children have ever attended. We've moved quite a bit over the years and they've been in wonderful schools, but Trinity is absolutely the best! Each teacher is amazingly well-suited for his or her classroom, and they each make it a point to get to know all the children, not just the ones in their own classrooms. The administration is strong, with the principal and church leaders being very much involved in day to day activities. Trinity Lutheran School defines what a true Christ-centered school should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Quality of education is plummeting. Don't send you child here if you want them to get a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

All of the teachers know all of the kids. It's not just the current teacher who interacts with the child & gives you feedback, they all do. There is great communication between staff and parents. There are many afterschool activities (chess club, 4-H) that would be great to have, but if a parent shows an interest, that is the parent who is drafted into providing that activity. Volunteerism is high at this school, but one can only do so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 74%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Multiracial 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sandy Price
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (574) 674-6410

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30888 County Road 6
Elkhart, IN 46514
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 674-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT