Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Concord South Side Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2013

Concord South-Side is an OK school. I have 2 that go TO the school and one that is in the head start program there. I LOVE the head start teachers and think they do a phenomenal job with the children. One thing I'm not to fond of is the lack of parent/teacher communication. But after I said something to the teachers they have really stepped that up. (at least with me) LOVE the fact that the nurse AND the counselor have given me the courtesy of a phone call when there has been an issue. Over-all I love Concord ELEMENTARY school! (the jr high is another story!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

I am a parent of a 3rd grader. My son teacher is Mrs. Garritson she is a wonderful teacher that goes above and beyond her job to make sure the children are learning and feeling loved. may god always bless her!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I am the Grandmother of a fifth grader and first grader. They love Concord South Side; that says something for the staff as a whole. They also have an excellent bus driver that does the CR28 route; she inspires them with her caring attitude in the mornings and evenings. Go Concord South Side.


Posted February 23, 2009

This school has a lot of staff issues. That cant get past color barriers. Concord schools as a whole did not have the over populated minorities 10yrs. ago and now the staff doesnt know how to teach them. They make all the excuses in the world why these students become problems to the class, when its the teachers fault for not taking the time or patience. This is why the school was on probation. The minorities are being over looked! The staff as a whole failed in my eyes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

My son has ADHD and Pervasive Developmental Disorder. They have done a good job meeting his emotional and academic needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

My son has gone to South Side since Kind. and has had a wonderful experience. He is advanced in math and reading and has been encouraged to read higher level books with their reading program .This year he is going into the 4th grade and will be pulled out for advanced math teaching. My son also has some special needs due to ADHD and sensory integration problems. He is in the bridges progrem for SI needs even though he does not have an IEP. They have even followed some of my suggestions that have worked well at home to integrate into the classroom even without an IEP. The music programs are very impressive especially the christmas program for the 2nd, 4th, and 6th grade. I atttended Catholic schools in Indy for 12 years and rate this school along with Jr/SR High in the same league.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

Concord South Side is not a bad school. Two of my nieces have gone there from K-6 and I still have 3 nieces and 1 nephew there now. The teachers are all friendly and willing to help parents with whatever information they need to help students be more successful. I worked there as a 6th grade paraprofessional for 5 months. I'm sure if there is ever a problem someone is more than willing to help. I had the opportunity to meet most of the teachers and those who I talked to have a great focus on where they want their students to be by certain times of the year. They offer great assistance programs like bridge, happy day club, and extra tutoring to help students who are still in need throughout the year. The principal and the assistant principal are very nice ladies who help in any way they can.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2004

This school has been my worst nightmare. The teachers only care about their paycheck. The Assistant Principal could care less about what is best for the kids - only what the teachers want. The office is very disorganized - my book rental was lost twice. The Cafeteria Staff is great but they seem to be the only ones that care. Out of 12 teachers I dealt with, only 2 care about the kids. The principal is only counting her time til retirement. No wonder this has been a failing school. Now they only concentrate on the failing students and all other students are left behind. The gifted student program is a joke!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

South Side is a fabulous school!! My son is in first grade and loves his teacher, bus driver, cafeteria workers...everyone. His teacher has been great about keeping good communication, between herself and the parents. The ladies in the office (including the nurse) are always so friendly. I could go on and on...Because there has never been an issue or bad experience in the past two years my son has been there. And he's learning so much so quickly. What more could anyone want? This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 72%
Black 24% 12%
Hispanic 19% 10%
Multiracial 9% 4%
American Indian 1% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A46%
Special education 16%N/A14%
English learners 14%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Katherine Scukanec
Fax number
  • (574) 875-4208

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23702 Arlene Avenue
Elkhart, IN 46517
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 875-6565

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT