Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Jimtown Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 459 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

The principal, school nurse, and my son's teacher were all very helpful when my son was struggling in the classroom. They had open communication with me and I did not hesitate to write or call them with questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

I think Jimtown is a great school community, the teachers are just great, I graduated from Jimtown and now have a 5 year old enrolled there, they are very encouraging to your child especially when they see him excelling in something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I have children and nieces that go their and the teachers go out of there way to make sure they know the parents. There was a day that I had to go in and it was a few months into my sons first year the principal knew who I was talking about and I never told him what my sons name was.This really impressed me because growing up the principal of the school I went to never knew my name and I went to the same school for the whole time I was in elementry.The teachers there no matter what grade your child is in they know who he or she is!There is no way I would ever transfer my children anywhere else....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

I have had the opportunity to interact with many of the schools in the Michiana area and I can truly say that Jimtown Schools are some of the best. The people in the community are very involved in all of the activities of the school as are the staff. The caliber of people working in the Baugo School Corporation are some of the finest that you will find with solid educations, upstanding moral character and a true love and concern for all students who go there. I can not think of a finer school in the area for my children to attend. Many of the teachers at Jimtown South spend countless personal hours , time and money to prepare for and work towards the educational excellence of their students .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

An outstanding school where student learning is the number one goal. Students are treated with respect and dignity. A terrific choice for your children. Parents are always welcome and encouraged to attend and participate in their child's education. I recommend that you call for further information, or better yet, stop in and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2003

We find the school and the community to be very 'clickish'. It's a who knows whom community which unfortunately carries over into the school system. Dealings with the elementary principal have all been a listening situation with no resolvement. The principal expresses parent involvement yet when parents do get involved the door is slammed in their. Even with issues pertaining to bus incidents that my child has experienced all listening but no action. Bus drivers do not have control of their buses. The Academic test scores in the Baugo School systems are the lowest in the county. A lot of emphasis is put on the football program and summer little leaque. Extracurricular activities offered are slim and not educationally based. If we could do it again, we would look deeper into the school before placing our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2003

I think this school is improving as far as acedemics, but the elementary principal was not a good choice, he isnt a fair person and has his picks which should not be allowed, all kids should be created the same not if your friends with the parents or if the child is well dressed, all kids should be treated the same but at Jimtown elementary thats not the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 72%
Hispanic 8% 10%
Multiracial 7% 4%
Black 3% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 3%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jeff Deak
Fax number
  • (574) 522-3899

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

58901 County Road 3
Elkhart, IN 46517
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 522-0379

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT