Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Reitz Memorial High School

Private | 9-12 | 759 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Evansville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2011

Both my daughters graduated from Memorial, and there are not enough words to describe my satisfaction with this school. They were both well-prepared for college and have excelled there as well. Even though Memorial is a Catholic school, they accept students of all religions and walks of life, which also supports the cultural diversity of the school. You will not find another Catholic school anywhere that rivals Memorial in academics, diversity, spirit, faculty/staff, and athletics. GO TIGERS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My son graduated from Memorial High School and my husband and I consider our decision to send him there one of the best choices we've made. The school has excellent teachers, a caring administrative staff and a commitment to nurture both the academic and spiritual growth of its students. After attending Memorial, our son was well prepared for his college experience and is thriving in his new environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

I work in the public school system in Evansville and wouldn't send my child to any school other than Memorial. The expectations far exceed the public school system. The school spirt is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

I love this school so far!!! The homework is not fun though. :( But overall its a fantastic school!! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

I LOVE going to Memorial. It really is like one big family. I really like how you get to know most people at school. It really is the perfect size. There is something for everyone. We have THE BEST school spirit in Indiana by far. Students excel in both school work and in sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

great school. great teachers. great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

This is a very well-rounded, challenging, environment where students are expected to take their education and future seriously. They are taught respect and responsibility. Every teacher that my daughter asked for extra help made themselves available. Even though we are not Catholic, my husband and I are very glad our daughter is going to Memorial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

This is a very good school. The Parent & Teacher involvment is the very Best. The school is very caring. The students are pushed to achieve their very best. The involvment between the parent's and teachers helps the student to achieve. When my child once got sick at school they took very good care of her until I get her to the hospital. This is the most caring school I have been in. Students learn to deal with everyday life and issues from very caring teachers. Plus God is a part of everyday learning and prayer for one another is very important. I cannot say enough good things about our school. Five Star!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My children were well prepared for college after attending Memorial. They were far ahead of some of the students they met in their Freshman and Sophomore level college classes at Indiana University and Ball State.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

91%

Average SAT score

1082

Graduation rate

98.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
90%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
23%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.9
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
25
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
88%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 74%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 1% 12%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Multiracial 1% 4%
American Indian N/A 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 1%N/AN/A
Special education 4%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Cynthia Schneider
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (812) 474-2942

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Evansville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Lincoln Avenue
Evansville, IN 47714
Phone: (812) 476-4973

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Signature School Inc
Evansville, IN



New Tech Institute
Evansville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT