Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Bosse High School

Public | 9-12 | 751 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

BBHS is an OK school. If you are thinking of moving to Evansville, it is probably one of the better high schools in the area. The student body is one of the most diverse that you could find in Indiana. The teachers are not the greatest, but seem to care about helping their students. The only flaw, and it is a big one, that I find with this school is the test grades. Many of the students have very low proficiency in English and therefore do poorly on written exams. The school should do something to improve test scores.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2012

I recently visited my alma mater, and am so proud that this beautiful building has been so well taken care of! In an era of moving out of old brick schools and building suburban replacements, this school still stands as regally as ever. All renovations have been done with thoughtful attention to form, function and maintaining the architectural integrity of the original structure. (Although carpet now covers the marble & granite halls.) I grew up in this neighborhood, and spent many hours playing on the campus - around the building and Enlow field. The neighborhood may be gone, now. But, the fond memories remain. this is truly one of the most beautiful schools in the country. Go Bulldogs!


Posted September 16, 2009

I went there and my son went there. It changed a lot, for the better actually. They teach, but there is also time for fun. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

People think of Bosse as a 'bad school', but no one knows what really happens in the school. Bosse is great and I refuse to transfer! I love Bosse!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

I am currently a student at Bosse High School.I have ad my ups and downs at Bosse the four years I have been there.Sometimes it is hard 2 get any body to listen to you but then other times they help you.I am not saying it is a bad school but they have had their problems to. Thankyou for listening. Submmited by a student
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2007

Bosse is one of the greatest schools I've ever gone to! They always seem to report the bad things about our school, but the teachers are great, and very helpful. And the staff is always so kind. I've yet to meet anyone at Bosse who is a bad person. We offer the IB program, which is very special, and we win all kinds of awards for academics. We have so many trophies they don't even fit in the display cases, and the halls are always very clean. No one who spends a day at bosse can say anything bad about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2006

I am currently a student at bosse high school and i know alot of people have bad things to say about bosse. I think that it is a really good school. It isnt bad like everyone makes it out to be. I wouldnt choose to go to any other school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2005

Bosse was the worst school I attended in Evansville. Day after day I saw things that made me ashamed to be a student there. The honors classes have some good teachers such as Mr.Denton or Mrs.Hays. Truly a horrible place to get an education in my opinion.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2004

Bosse is by far the best high school in the city. The student teacher relationship is second to none and the staff really cares about it's students. Robert W. Adams is the only principal I know who knows every student at his school, regardless of what activities they are in. There are some who don't participate in extracurricular activities at all, but he knows you. So often one only hears of the bad things at Bosse. I'm hear to say from personal experience those were the best four years of my life and I would not have wanted to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
46%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
25%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

35%

Average SAT score

458

Graduation rate

78.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
71%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
50%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
16
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
66%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 72%
Black 34% 12%
Multiracial 13% 4%
Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A46%
Special education 21%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Sheila Huff
Fax number
  • (812) 474-6976

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Washington Avenue
Evansville, IN 47714
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 477-1661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Signature School Inc
Evansville, IN



New Tech Institute
Evansville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT