Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stringtown Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 523 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

This school is the best school ever I want to go to Harvard thanks to this school


Posted August 8, 2013

Stringtown is a great school. My grandchildren are 3rd generation attendees. I would recommend this school to anyone. Schools are what you make of them and Stringtown makes the upmost best of the funding and resources that are available to make all students top of the class.


Posted August 28, 2009

While I think Stringtown is a great school, I simply don't understand why the students are dismissed so early in the day. My granddaughter is dismissed at 2:16pm...that's in the middle of the afternoon! Would there not be an academic benefit to continuing instruction until at least 3:00 pm?


Posted July 13, 2009

I love Stringtown!! All of the teachers my daughter has had are excellent and Mr. Brown is loved by all the kids, which is not normal being that he is the principal. I will definetly send my other daughter there, also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I don't think the teachers spend enough time making sure the student understands the subject. They need to make sure each student understands the problem and not just show them a couple of times and send them home to do it wrong 20 times!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Teachers + Parents = Great Students Make your childs education a Priority, Not someone else's responsibility. Stringtown rocks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I have to say that I am extremely please with this school. I have 3 children that attend this school and since starting here their grades and attitudes have improve greatly! Not only that, this past Wed. my 5 year old was in class and had a seizure that caused him to quit breathing. One of his teachers, Mrs. Carlyl, responded with quick and proper judgement. She saved my son's life. She rode in the ambulance with him to the hospital and stayed in the room with me trying to let the DR know what happened and to make sure we were all okay. Say what you will about this school. To my family and I they are all angels there! Thank you Mrs. Carlyl and Mr. Brown!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

At one point, this school had integrity, higher test scores, and better staff involvedment - however they begin bussing inner city school kids there and the atmosphere changed as did the attitudes of most of the staff. I'm thankful my student is a middle schooler now and out of there, but I'd do my research before selecting this school. We did have some great experiences with all but one teacher and the principal is a wonderful person too, however I would avoid the counselor as she's very judgemental and quick to recommend a spirited child to be put on medications. She was aggressive towards our family because we choose not to medicate our son. We would receive regular letters home as well as phone calls, reminding us he needed to be on medications. Please do your research before picking this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

My child has only been at Stringtown 1 year, but I can say that it has been a great year. Her teacher and principle are wonderful at what their doing. I can truely say that I really respect the teaching staff at Stringtown as well as Mr. Brown. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 72%
Multiracial 7% 4%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Black 2% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A46%
Special education 18%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Martin Brown
Fax number
  • (812) 435-8558

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4720 Stringtown Road
Evansville, IN 47711
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 435-8320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Redeemer School
Evansville, IN




Evans School
Evansville, IN



St Theresa School
Evansville, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT