Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Central High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
There are more effective teachers there than not, which is a change from years gone by. Some of those who are not, are not because of their choice and their alliance with the union representative.

North Central High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
There is, fortunately, never too much homework. The community has a lot of sporting activities and that helps.


North Central High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
Combating negativity and knowing there are teachers who care, do encourage those qualities in students.

North Central High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
Again, the negative teachers and their representative combat the attempted development of respect in the students by other teachers and the administration.

North Central High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
I've seen too many students who have come away from there defeated by a former, long-term principal. The new administration seems to be geared more towards meeting the needs of the students, but until that handful of teacher and their representative are out of the school, as well as their constant threats of filing grievances, the new administration is probably limited into what they can actually do to demonstrate their compassion and empathy.


North Central High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
I cannot answer this honestly, as I am not in the school. From what I hear students talking about, there are a handful of teachers who do not demonstrate those qualities.

North Central High School 3

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
This school has a lot of potential. A new auto mechanics and agriculture classes, technology classes, partnering with local colleges, small class sizes, a successful tutorial period, and students who care about one another and who are very welcoming. The only drawback, aside from the lack of quicker growth due to State funding, is the mindset of some teachers, along with their union representative, who appears to be the root of most of the discord within the school and teachers. Once that individual leaves, brighter, school spirit-filled days will be ahead of the students and remaining faculty.

North Central High School
no rating

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
Overall, North Central is a superb school. Students have diverse choices with regard to academics, and non-academic activiities. Like most schools, I think discipline needs to improve. I would suggest a dress code for all students and make it mandatory that the professional staff dress in business dress only. Casual dress sends a wrong message.


North Central High School
no rating

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
i dont have much to say about this school. I hasd a kid go to this school. if you dont have money then you are stuck out on the other end. I know alot of athletes that didnt getthe reapect they needed. I think if one wins an accomplishment or award on the teams all of them should be regonized. i think Mr. Lowe done a real great job i will miss him alot. I know my child loved him to death and he was always there when i needed him. Thank you Mr. Lowe for everything you did for me. I hope you enjoy your new job. as for the school it could be improved by far.

North Central High School 1

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
This was one of the worst school's I ever went to. Between the violence and pointless speeches by the principle and superintendent, I feel that what I learned was lackluster to what I could have if they would have spent more time worrying about our future instead of how they looked to the community. They take all this money and did some of the dumbest things that they think benefit the school but did nothing for the regular student. It really is to bad I had to spend all 4 years of my high school career there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Central High School
910 East Co Road 975 North, Farmersburg, IN  47850
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (812) 397-2132
Last modified North Central High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top