Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fall Creek Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 777 students

Our school is best known for nurturing teachers, high achievement and strong PTO

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2012

Like many people, we moved here from another state based on the excellent school system. We have been VERY happy with our decision! Our youngest just left FCE in May,after 3 years there. Our oldest enjoyed her 4th grade there. We were very pleased with almost every teacher, the curriculum and school activities. In 3 years we had only two issues, one with a teacher and one with an aggressive boy on the bus. Both issues were attended to quickly and with great concern and helpfulness. There is HUGE parent involvement at this school! Both our children have moved on to other schools in the HSE system and we continue to be so impressed with this school system. We couldn't be any happier with our decision to move here and have our children attend HSE schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

I absolutely LOVE this school!! We have been at the school for 8 years and I think it is wonderful! We have never gotten a bad teacher and my older kids did so well they are both in advanced classes well into their junior high and high school years. They still come back to visit their teachers! I have one more child there for one more year and I will be so sad to leave this school. Everyone isso friendly and welcoming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I'm saddened to see remarks by a person that claims to be a parent but obviously is not. The person that posted (on December 3, 2010) "The Principal shows no leadership,personality, or genuine concern for anything. Each and every time I have been in the office,hallways,school functions he just seems to be there. This school needs a new principal ...." Is obviously unaware that the school DOES have a new principal (that started August 2010) who is a female, not a male. It's possible that your child no longer goes to FCE so you don't know these things, but I wish you would check your facts before posting. My kids came from the Lawrence Township school system and I am THRILLED with the education and support my children and I have received from the Fall Creek Elementary Principal and staff. I can't say enough about the wonderful education my children are receiving. The Parents are more involved than you would ever dream. There are parents volunteering in the office everyday, as well as in many of the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Great school. We moved to this district because of the great public schools and we haven't been dissappointed. However, my only and most significant knock on FCE is the lack of diverse teachers. i cannot believe that there are no well qualified diverse candidates to teach at the school. I think that part is absolutely absurd and with hope, this is addressed sooner than later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

This used to be a great school, but not anymore. Overcrowded classrooms, teachers that do not seem to be getting the help they need seems to be the norm. I have a daughter on the fourth grade who has had significant problems with bullies at her grade. I tried to talk to the principal about the situation and he was extremely unhelpful and uncooperative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

Fall Creek is a great school. Both my girls have attended and received a fantastic education at FCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

I have seen a huge increase in my daughter's skills in a short time period. She is only in kindergarten, but her recognition skills and vocabulary has positively been impacted. Students are reinforced weekly for positive behavior. My biggest concern is around this 1/2 day program in what is considered to be one of the best school systems in the state which does not even offer bus transportation to and from school (only a morning ride for AM or an afternoon ride for PM kindergarten). Parents are forced to make arrangements for supplemental transportation, which can at times be difficult depending on your circumstances.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 72%
Black 6% 12%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Multiracial 5% 4%
Asian 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A46%
Special education 7%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Rated an "A" by the state (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms Amy Jackson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 594-4189

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • High Ability
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • green, white, blue
School mascot
  • Trojans
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fall Creek Intermediate
Hamilton Southeastern JH
Hamilton Southeastern HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12131 Olio Road
Fishers, IN 46037
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 594-4180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Focus Program
Fishers, IN





Geist Montessori Academy
McCordsville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT