Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton Southeastern High School

Public | 9-12 | 3010 students

Our school is best known for high academic and athletic standards.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

This school does not care for any students who are different and aren't rich and "normal". If you plan on going to this school throw out every ounce of creativity. Buy some "normal" clothes. Would not recommend.


Posted September 26, 2013

I am very impressed with the concern that the school personal shows for the students.


Posted June 13, 2013

I attended HSE. I graduated as an above-average student. In general, I think the school helped me prepare for college. As a current college student, I know for a fact that HSE challenged me more than the high schools that some of my other friends attended. Pros: - Great athletic programs. Football and basketball teams are hard-working, even if they don't win. It - Great AP programs and scholastic challenges - a huge assortment of interesting classes for students to choose from. - Teachers that are dedicated to improving students' lives. - Great Fine Arts department - some of the best art teachers you will ever meet. Very dedicated to their program and making art accessible to everyone. - Great performing arts department and theatrical program. They set high standards because they want people who work hard and are actually talented. Cons: - The district seems a little too focused on the athletic teams. - Lunches are terribly unhealthy and there aren't a lot of options for people with any dietary restrictions. In general, I think this was a great school. Send your kid here if you want them to be prepared for college. If they work hard, they will succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2013

Very bad school. Do not send your child here if they are not an outstanding student. They do not care about students that are less than what they think about outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I have one graduate and one student currently attending HSE High School. This school has so much to offer! There are challenging academic programs with a variety of concentrations, and more AP classes available than at any other school in the area. My oldest transferred in as a sophomore and found many ways to get involved. In particular, the choral music program has been a gift for both of my kids (a boy and a girl). With over 200 students in the program, there is a place for every level of ability. The spotlight in this program is on the kids and on the four shows they put on each year. These shows are so high quality with all the choreography and costumes - truly a joy to watch! They consistently sell out in advance. I've been attending for four years now. The two directors set the bar high for these students, and the students rise to the challenge. The directors lead with integrity and professionalism and create a positive atmosphere for the students. We are lucky to have such excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

Both my children graduated from this school. They hated it. If you have academically gifted children then you will be very happy with this school. This is not a good school for those children that think "out of the box". This school has a zero tolerance level for children who are perceived as different. If I had to do it all over again I would not have sent my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I have two children who attend HSE HS. Each of my kids have unique strengths and weaknesses and, overall, the staff and administration have done a good job of supporting/encouraging their strong points and working with them to improve their weaknesses. It is a very large school, which can be overwhelming. The good side of that is that there are MANY activities to choose from (you don't have to be in band or on a sports team to get involved).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

there are some dedicated teachers that make the school great but theres alot of bad things about this school i wouldnt send my child here
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2011

From an academic perspective HSE seems to be a quality learning establishment. We relocated to Fishers in the middle of my childs high school years and the students and teachers welcomed us with open arms....EXCEPT for the choir directors. Unfortunately these folks are specifically focused on how THEY look and are in no way interested in supporting the students. It's obvious that they have their own agenda and consistently put themselves in the spotlight and overshadowing the kids. Example: purchasing high dollar costumes for themselves and placing themselves in the production as "stars" of the shows.Dancing, singing, performing. Seriously?? These are high school performances! Not performances for themselves? It was appalling and happened time after time. These folks made a "decision" that the choral dept would not partciipate in ANY competitions stating that "it's to keep the parents cost down." It became blatently apparent that the real reason is becasue they would not be able to perform in these competitions because....THEY'RE TEACHERS!!! Not high school students! HSAE is a good school but if your child is interested in choir, stay away! They won't get the respect they deserve
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Awful school, the school does not provide any liberties to the students. Restricting technological use to a point where it is using 20th century learning techniques. A student transferring who has come from any school with some form of creativity and is used to a newer and more advance form of learning will compare this school to a prison.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2010

Overall schools in the district achieve a consistent quality. HSEHS is large but students like it and parents support it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

From a students perspective... HSE is a great school to go to. Ever since I moved to Fishers four years ago I've always wanted to go to HSE. It is a great enviornment to learn in, teachers are top notch, it's a safe enviornment filled with tons of school spirit. That is what we promote most, school spirit. Every day we are reminded on announcemets to 'take pride in yourself, and in the royals.' it's a great place to learn and get a solid education. There are so many ways to get I involved and find where you fit in. Because of it's size, over 2500 students,And a really huge campus, it might seem like this is a bad thing, but it's really not. Yes it's crowded in the hallways, but it's that way at everyschool. Don't let it's size intimidate you. It's a great school. I'm having a great time!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

My children were redistricted to Hamilton Southeastern High School after junior high. Before, they went to school at Fishers Junior High. At first they were disappointed to not be going to Fishers High School, but their mindset has changed since then. They love HSE high school. The teachers are experienced and 'go the extra mile' for their students. I am proud to be an HSE parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It has a lot of good lunches, has one of Indiana's best auditoriums, and is a great place to go to school at.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Excellent academics, supportive teachers and guidance team. They really get the students prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I have a daughter that is a Junior and I have to say that this school has been a terrible experience. If you have a perfect straight A student who never struggles, then this is the school for you. If you have a regular student then you will have trouble. The school is too large, the teachers overworked and indifferent and your child will very easily fall through the cracks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

Great school and we've been to quite a few accross the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

As a student at Hamilton Southeastern High School, I find that this is one of the best schools in the area. I am so blessed to be able to go to this school. I have never had a more rigorous acedemic carrer than while I am at HSE. This is quite honestly one of the greatest schools and I am so glad that I am here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2005

HSE is a great school district run by an administration that always strives to offer the best education possible. We have four kids in HSE schools at all levels and have been very pleased. That said, as the fastest growing town in Indiana there will always be issues with redistricting. Every teacher we have dealt with has always had our childrens interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

We've been in this district for two years now and have a son in 10th grade and a son in 2nd grade. The academic pace is rigorous and my boys are thriving. This is a HUGE school district and that is one of my main dilemmas with it. Change is always in the air and there are many new building projects going on. The administration does a good job of managing the current student body while preparing and planning for the new ones. If your child is bright, you'll love this district. If your child has special needs, I would suggest that you research the district extensively (talk to parents of spec. ed. kids if you can) before deciding to enroll your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

720 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

779 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

90%

Average SAT score

1085

Graduation rate

93.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
84%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
19%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.8
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
25
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
81%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 72%
Black 9% 12%
Asian 6% 2%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French, German, Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:55 am
School Leader's name
  • Mr Matt Kegley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 594-4199

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Plumbing
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • DECA
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: French, German, Spanish
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue, white
School mascot
  • Lion
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13910 East 126th Street
Fishers, IN 46037
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 594-4190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Focus Program
Fishers, IN




Mt Vernon High School
Fortville, IN


Horizon Christian School
Indianapolis, IN


Eman Schools
Fishers, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT