Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
We chose Fishers, in part, due to the ratings of HSE HS. With two students, we were hopeful this would be a good place for them. We were very disappointed. The teachers and academics were fine. The other students were snobby and elitist. They had no interest in meeting someone new. My kids are outgoing and friendly. They tried over and again to make friends but were slapped down, ignored and looked down upon. It was a miserable year for them both. We are taking them out. If your student is very active in a sport, wealthy or otherwise "in", good. If not, look at a smaller school district. 3500 students. Too large.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 2

Posted December 29, 2014
- a student
The teachers at this school do not care for anyone that is not either an elite scholar, or wealthy. The extra curricular activities they have to offer are great, however, a majority of the students are very "proud" and rude. I would not recommend ever going to this school if you do not meet their exceedingly high standards.


Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted January 28, 2014
- a community member
This school does not care for any students who are different and aren't rich and "normal". If you plan on going to this school throw out every ounce of creativity. Buy some "normal" clothes. Would not recommend.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
I am very impressed with the concern that the school personal shows for the students.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a student
I attended HSE. I graduated as an above-average student. In general, I think the school helped me prepare for college. As a current college student, I know for a fact that HSE challenged me more than the high schools that some of my other friends attended. Pros: - Great athletic programs. Football and basketball teams are hard-working, even if they don't win. It - Great AP programs and scholastic challenges - a huge assortment of interesting classes for students to choose from. - Teachers that are dedicated to improving students' lives. - Great Fine Arts department - some of the best art teachers you will ever meet. Very dedicated to their program and making art accessible to everyone. - Great performing arts department and theatrical program. They set high standards because they want people who work hard and are actually talented. Cons: - The district seems a little too focused on the athletic teams. - Lunches are terribly unhealthy and there aren't a lot of options for people with any dietary restrictions. In general, I think this was a great school. Send your kid here if you want them to be prepared for college. If they work hard, they will succeed.


Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted April 14, 2013
- a parent
Very bad school. Do not send your child here if they are not an outstanding student. They do not care about students that are less than what they think about outstanding.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
I have one graduate and one student currently attending HSE High School. This school has so much to offer! There are challenging academic programs with a variety of concentrations, and more AP classes available than at any other school in the area. My oldest transferred in as a sophomore and found many ways to get involved. In particular, the choral music program has been a gift for both of my kids (a boy and a girl). With over 200 students in the program, there is a place for every level of ability. The spotlight in this program is on the kids and on the four shows they put on each year. These shows are so high quality with all the choreography and costumes - truly a joy to watch! They consistently sell out in advance. I've been attending for four years now. The two directors set the bar high for these students, and the students rise to the challenge. The directors lead with integrity and professionalism and create a positive atmosphere for the students. We are lucky to have such excellent teachers!

Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
Both my children graduated from this school. They hated it. If you have academically gifted children then you will be very happy with this school. This is not a good school for those children that think "out of the box". This school has a zero tolerance level for children who are perceived as different. If I had to do it all over again I would not have sent my children to this school.


Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
I have two children who attend HSE HS. Each of my kids have unique strengths and weaknesses and, overall, the staff and administration have done a good job of supporting/encouraging their strong points and working with them to improve their weaknesses. It is a very large school, which can be overwhelming. The good side of that is that there are MANY activities to choose from (you don't have to be in band or on a sports team to get involved).

Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted December 02, 2011
- a student
there are some dedicated teachers that make the school great but theres alot of bad things about this school i wouldnt send my child here

Nearby schools

Hamilton Southeastern High School
13910 East 126th Street, Fishers, IN  46037
(317) 594-4190
Last modified Hamilton Southeastern High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top