Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted January 28, 2014
- a community member
This school does not care for any students who are different and aren't rich and "normal". If you plan on going to this school throw out every ounce of creativity. Buy some "normal" clothes. Would not recommend.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
I am very impressed with the concern that the school personal shows for the students.


Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a student
I attended HSE. I graduated as an above-average student. In general, I think the school helped me prepare for college. As a current college student, I know for a fact that HSE challenged me more than the high schools that some of my other friends attended. Pros: - Great athletic programs. Football and basketball teams are hard-working, even if they don't win. It - Great AP programs and scholastic challenges - a huge assortment of interesting classes for students to choose from. - Teachers that are dedicated to improving students' lives. - Great Fine Arts department - some of the best art teachers you will ever meet. Very dedicated to their program and making art accessible to everyone. - Great performing arts department and theatrical program. They set high standards because they want people who work hard and are actually talented. Cons: - The district seems a little too focused on the athletic teams. - Lunches are terribly unhealthy and there aren't a lot of options for people with any dietary restrictions. In general, I think this was a great school. Send your kid here if you want them to be prepared for college. If they work hard, they will succeed.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted April 14, 2013
- a parent
Very bad school. Do not send your child here if they are not an outstanding student. They do not care about students that are less than what they think about outstanding.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
I have one graduate and one student currently attending HSE High School. This school has so much to offer! There are challenging academic programs with a variety of concentrations, and more AP classes available than at any other school in the area. My oldest transferred in as a sophomore and found many ways to get involved. In particular, the choral music program has been a gift for both of my kids (a boy and a girl). With over 200 students in the program, there is a place for every level of ability. The spotlight in this program is on the kids and on the four shows they put on each year. These shows are so high quality with all the choreography and costumes - truly a joy to watch! They consistently sell out in advance. I've been attending for four years now. The two directors set the bar high for these students, and the students rise to the challenge. The directors lead with integrity and professionalism and create a positive atmosphere for the students. We are lucky to have such excellent teachers!


Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
Both my children graduated from this school. They hated it. If you have academically gifted children then you will be very happy with this school. This is not a good school for those children that think "out of the box". This school has a zero tolerance level for children who are perceived as different. If I had to do it all over again I would not have sent my children to this school.

Hamilton Southeastern High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
I have two children who attend HSE HS. Each of my kids have unique strengths and weaknesses and, overall, the staff and administration have done a good job of supporting/encouraging their strong points and working with them to improve their weaknesses. It is a very large school, which can be overwhelming. The good side of that is that there are MANY activities to choose from (you don't have to be in band or on a sports team to get involved).

Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted December 02, 2011
- a student
there are some dedicated teachers that make the school great but theres alot of bad things about this school i wouldnt send my child here


Hamilton Southeastern High School 3

Posted September 03, 2011
- a parent
From an academic perspective HSE seems to be a quality learning establishment. We relocated to Fishers in the middle of my childs high school years and the students and teachers welcomed us with open arms....EXCEPT for the choir directors. Unfortunately these folks are specifically focused on how THEY look and are in no way interested in supporting the students. It's obvious that they have their own agenda and consistently put themselves in the spotlight and overshadowing the kids. Example: purchasing high dollar costumes for themselves and placing themselves in the production as "stars" of the shows.Dancing, singing, performing. Seriously?? These are high school performances! Not performances for themselves? It was appalling and happened time after time. These folks made a "decision" that the choral dept would not partciipate in ANY competitions stating that "it's to keep the parents cost down." It became blatently apparent that the real reason is becasue they would not be able to perform in these competitions because....THEY'RE TEACHERS!!! Not high school students! HSAE is a good school but if your child is interested in choir, stay away! They won't get the respect they deserve

Hamilton Southeastern High School 1

Posted August 17, 2011
- a student
Awful school, the school does not provide any liberties to the students. Restricting technological use to a point where it is using 20th century learning techniques. A student transferring who has come from any school with some form of creativity and is used to a newer and more advance form of learning will compare this school to a prison.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamilton Southeastern High School
13910 East 126th Street, Fishers, IN  46037
(317) 594-4190
Last modified Hamilton Southeastern High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hamilton Southeastern High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.