Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cumberland Road Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 643 students

Our school is best known for our caring teachers who support learning.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

CRES lacks a community feel. There are not any after school clubs or groups for the students to be a part of. There were only three opportunities to volunteer in my child's classroom this year. The only readily available communication between home and school is email and it often takes a few days to receive a response. Parent involvement is very limited by the school and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

Two of my three children have gone through this school and I can't say enough good things about it. Great teachers, very relaxing environment, great office staff, excellent music and art teachers. I have one more child and he is definitely going to be going to Cumberland Road K-4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

We moved from PA to IN and were initially worried. But now I cannot find words to Thank teachers (Mr. Greiwe and Mrs. Roth). The complete transition was very smooth and my son enjoyed in their class. He could not wait to go to school and always came home happy with lot of knowledge. Probably some of the best years of my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Everyone from the the teachers to the office staff are wonderful and show that they care about you child. CRES is # 1!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Cannot say enough amazing things about this school. Everyone from the wonderful principal, Mrs Harris, to the custodian is awesome. Attentive and caring teachers that foster children's love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Awesome teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

This is my oldest daughters 4th year at CRES and she never wants to leave. Mr. Miller is the best principal ever! And, the faculity is top notch! I love that this school is very family and community oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

My son loves this school. He has enjoyed the personalized attention and the enriching activities provided there. To anyone that is considering this school, I would definitely recommend it. My son started off Kindergarten already well ahead in reading. His teacher recognized this and has been so supportive of his needs. She has evaluated his progress all year long and has adjusted the level of books he's reading so that he gets better at a pace he's comfortable with. He can't wait to go to school every day and absolutely hates to miss school when he's sick. We have loved it! I can't believe the types of books he's reading now. It's amazing and I have the teachers and staff to thank for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

My daughter has been at this school for 2 years. She has had a wonderful experience. She loves to go to school every day and as a matter of fact, she cries if she has to miss due to being sick. We have had wonderful teachers and the new principal is awesome. I could not have asked for a better experience for her. She is in Celebrations of the World Club and Student Council. They attend one 'specials class' (music, PE and Art) every day. I really can't say enough about this school. We are moving after this year and we are sad to have to leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

My husband and I moved here from Jacksonville, Florida so my son would have a chance at a great education! Though we have only been here for a month and school has only been in session for a week my son is the happiest and most excited about school than he has ever been! The staff and children here at Cumberland are just wonderful and very kind (unlike his other school) it s great to see him smile instead of coming home crying! Thank you to everyone at Cumberland Rd Elementary for making my son and myself very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2004

I am new to the school ..so I really can't give a full review..but thus far I am really happy with the school and so is my son...he loves his new teacher and he adjusted very well his first week. The communication with the teacher is great and the office staff are more then helpful. I am delighted to be a part of a great school system....but its the staff that makes it so great. Thank you for welcoming my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

My son loves to go to school every day! Staff and principal have a wonderful communication with the parents and the atmosphere is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 72%
Asian 7% 2%
Black 5% 12%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Multiracial 4% 4%
American Indian 1% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 4%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Four Star School (2012)
  • A+ School (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 11:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms Lisa Lederach
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • mcuffe@hse.k12.in.us
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 594-4179

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • Red and black
School mascot
  • Roadrunner
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sand Creek Intermediate
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13535 Cumberland Road
Fishers, IN 46038
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 594-4170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Promise Road Elementary
Noblesville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT