Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak View Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 395 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

Our son is in his third year at Oak View, and we have been extremely pleased with the teachers, staff, and exceptional support and communication. NACS is by far the best district in the area in our opinion. His (and our) favorite teachers have been Mrs. Hurley and Mr. Barnes. We love Oak View!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

We moved to this school from another state, and we have been very pleased. Our children's teachers send out emails on a regular basis, and one even sends them every day so we know exactly what is expected and what is being taught. The principal has made us feel very welcome, and greets the students at the buses in the morning. We have talked with other parents, and we also hear many good things about how concerns are always taken care of quickly by the teachers and by the principal. We also attended our first fall festival, and it was loads of fun. The school has received high rankings in testing for several years, and was the main reason we first looked at this school. We love Oak View!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Oak View provides many student-focused, family-oriented activities and many excellent teachers. Unfortunately a handful of teachers do not rise to excellence, technology is limited, leadership and support from the principal is practically nonexistent and the counselor is only there part time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My children love their school! Their teachers have all been top-notch. Field trips and activities are fun and varied, and as a parent who enjoys volunteering when time permits, I appreciate that the teachers welcome volunteers. The PTO is really good too. It seems they handle everything from the activities, funding field trips, and providing students with things that we (parents and/or teachers) would otherwise need to pay for. Excellent in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

My 1st grade daughter has Leukemia, which means that she has to miss quite a bit of school for Chemotherapy and illnesses. The teaching staff and administrative staff have been excellent in accomidating her peculiar schedule. The week following her monthly treatments she is on a steriod that makes her extremely tired. Her teacher has brought in a couple of bean bags for her (and her classmates) to sit on so that she can get some rest during class and still participate when she's able. I've been overwhelmed with the enthusiasm, compassion, and respect that the teachers have regarding their classes and my daughter in particular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2010

Oak View is awesome I was in FWCS then came to NACS I expected better than my old school and Oak View is ten times better than my old school and Mr Carnahan and Mrs. Nichols are the best teachers


Posted August 13, 2009

My daughter is in her third year at Oak View and as parents that stress the importance of education to our children we are very happy with the level of education she is receiving. The principal is wonderful and the teachers communicate well with the parents. It reminds me of a private school only it's public. My daughter has had only good experiences and is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

Oak View is a decent school. I would not rate it as high as others because my daughter comes home from school and tells me that she didn't learn anything and she also comes home with workbooks that are not completed. Her reading has improved but her writing has slipped. Her handwriting was better in preschool and I don't think the school worked with her on this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I love Oak View the school is so great! My child's Favorite teacher is Mr. Carnahan (4th grade).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

My daughter attended 1st and 2nd grade at Oakview and LOVED IT! She has excelled academically and she has enjoyed all of her teachers. The parents are very actively involved and the teachers are very dedicated. We have been very fortunate to have such wonderful experiences at Oakview.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 72%
Asian 7% 2%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A46%
Special education 8%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13123 Coldwater Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46845
Website: Click here
Phone: (260) 637-5117

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Willowbrook Day School
Fort Wayne, IN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT