Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carroll High School

Public | 9-12 | 2048 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

As one of the "free spirited individuals" mentioned by one of the other reviews, my worst memories of adolescence will always be from Carroll High School. During my time there, the new Gay-Straight Alliance had every attempt made to shut it down while the "Common Sense Club" for conservatives and a pushy religious student group were allowed to flourish and were encouraged by staff. I was bullied for my lack of traditional beliefs/"New Age" thoughts and many of my friends were as well. There are a lot of anti-bullying programs, but they're not uniformly enforced. The education is very good, but you have to be prepared to deal with a really diverse cast of teachers who all have very different grading styles and standards. The only complaint I have about that is that MLA formatting is promoted as the way colleges will want papers when every paper I've had to write has required APA. My recommendation for other "free spirits" that have to go to Carroll: do what I did and set yourself on the seven-semester graduation program. Keep your head down and your mouth shut unless something really bad is going on. Make a few really good friends and get involved with things outside school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2014

Carroll high school offers an experience I do not believe I could have received in any other school I the area. Great variety of helpful faculty and student peers provides the best environment for growth. The opportunities the school offers exposes students to many different pathways for the future. I feel prepared for further education and believe the push carroll provides helped build me into a motivated student.


Posted August 10, 2013

This school has every possible good factor that you would want to see in a school. Some of the rules in the school are frowned upon, but that aside, everything else about this school is fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2013

Some of these reviews are comical. I'm currently a senior at Carroll and have loved this school to death. Yes the administration overdoes it sometimes with rules. However there are zero problems with violence, gangs intimidation and bullying. The administrations job isn't to be friendly, it is to provide a professional environment to learn and prepare yourself for the real world. The academics here are stellar, and even the lower level classes have challenged me. Even if you are a genius, you will be challenged at Carroll. The student body is white, rich, and it seems fairly religious. However, the wealthy part of Carroll is negated by the Huntertown students and country kids. The athletics are getting better each year and Carroll is starting to look more like a 5A school each year. The bottom line is that this school prepares students for college and gives the tools they need to be successful. The administration griping gets old after a while.. This school still outperforms almost all the other public schools in the state even though it is underfunded. Oh and the soccer coach here sucks (Rollie Clements) they would have like 3 state titles if they had someone else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2012

Administration cares too much about rules and regulations than student and are rude. They are not open-minded and are biased (They even made a "common sense" club for conservatives!) Sure you'll get a great education but you'll pay for it by them taking every right you have and making you obey senseless rules. You have no opinion about it by the way....
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2012

Let me just start by saying I absolutely LOVED Carroll. My academic career there began with me entering sophomore year without any credits. From fourth grade until then I was home schooled, and my mom didn't feel it necessary to send in tests to be graded for credits. I don't blame her, but it did add a little pressure on me to obtain all 44 required credits before graduating. Within the six semesters that I was enrolled, I managed to overcome that pressure and receive my Core 40 diploma with the rest of the class of 2010. In my opinion, the teachers made all the difference in the world. Mrs. Shade gave up her mornings to personally review my homework with me, Mrs. Mowrey granted me the extra 10 seconds or so after the tardy bell rang because administration didn't give enough time for me to sprint (yes, I had to run and still couldn't make the bell) between buildngs after gym to her classroom. Mr. Adams gave me an extension on a paper, even though the policy is to mark an assignment as a 0 if not turned in within three days, because my partner hadn't done her share. There are so many instances of teachers going above and beyond to help me succeed. I'm blessed to have attended CHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2011

School still hasn't recovered from its 2005/2006 expulsion of a student who criticized the administration in a comedy (which embarrassed the school with nationwide media coverage). They haven't learned from their mistakes, as parents and students are pushed aside for the administration's personal objectives. It's a good school compared to Northrop and others, but if you want your kid to end up in college and successful, send them elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

Carroll High School is an outstanding school. The new construction includes a fantastic gym, state-of-the-art band/choral facilities, and classrooms equipped to teach students in the 21st century. This high school isn't perfect, but a lot of the things that are bad about this school happen at EVERY HIGH SCHOOL EVER. There is SIGNIFICANTLY less drug use at CHS than in most high schools of its size. The teachers at Carroll are truly good people who can give students a quality, college-prep education. As a former student, I would have to admit that the administration is the biggest drawback at Carroll. They are very strict on attendance, dress code, etc., but that is mostly because they don't really have to concern themselves with bigger problems like fights, gangs, guns, etc. There is a full time police officer with a drug dog for the district. There are some quality administrators (most of their titles start with vice- ), but the lowest level administrators/office staff tend to get a touch power-hungry. The academic rigor for advanced students is EXCELLENT, and even the general classes prepare students for college much better than the equivalent classes at other area high schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2011

I graduated from Carroll in 2009. This school is thorough with its academics, and prepares students very well for college with its rigorous tests and essays provided. An average scoring student will still enter college and find it to be MUCH easier than high school, something not many college students say when they compare high school and college academics. Sports are highly valued and top notch, as are the arts' programs. Unfortunately this school does however fall short with diversity and socializing students. Cliques are highly common- transfer students are first to point this out. Diversity amoung students is extremely limited as well making exposure to race a thing we can only read about. Rules and policy are considerably conservative with a strictly enforced dress code, little tolerance for cursing, phrases like "pray for..." will be publically displayed, so more "free spirits" may find the district slightly uncomfortable. In sum this school is not a good idea if a parent wants their child to develop "well rounded" social skills (though extra effort can achieve this without the school's help) but is fantastic for getting ahead with grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2010

I graduated from Carroll in 2008 and am so thankful for such a great education! I look around at my college classmates and know that I came into IU with a better foundation than 90% of them. So many incredible memories and awesome teachers.. and the new expansion makes me so jealous!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2010

I have been a student in this area from grade kindergarten and i am a freshman. This school is one of the best schools in the area. Very rarely are there any problems with drugs or fights. There are a lot of rules but it is a very safe school and it also has many activities to get involved in. The recent expansion is finished and is a huge convenience and the school also features a new gym with a capacity of around 3800 people and a new spirit wear shop, it also has many technological advances in classrooms. I highly recomend this school to anyone wanting to move to this area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2010

As a parent of a Carroll High Student I must say that I am very pleased with the school. I feel that they do go above and beyond for students that need additional help with subject matters, taking test etc.to ensure that the student graduates.


Posted April 29, 2009

this school is very nice they really helps kids with what they want to do when they get older.I goes there and i loves it. My brother will begoing there in a couple of years
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

Several reviews here are based on a decision by the school district to expand Carroll rather than split the district into two high schools. There are still some hard feelings in the community over that decision. Carroll High School offers excellent opportunities for students of many different interests and abilities. The current expansion construction has been a challenge, but the facilities are (or will be) first-rate. Easily the best in Allen County. I saw a review mentioning widespread drugs and violence. This is utter hogwash. I'm around Carroll and its students on a regular basis and it is a very safe and comfortable community. These kids are the best group of teenagers I have ever been around. As with any school, there is a drug community as well, but it is clearly in the fringe of the Carroll population. My only complaint: Discipline seems to be a little capricious and heavy-handed at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

Carroll High School may be a little bias on many topics and focus on athletics a bit too much but there are those teachers that are very nice and helpful like Mr. Knorr. He is an awesome physics teacher. I think that even though thorugh these drawbacks. The true warmth and fire within is better than the exoskeleton of these faults. Hey it has many great programs! This is truly one of the best schools to be in. No matter what otheres say, Carroll is the school for me. Go Chargers!


Posted May 30, 2008

Being a current student of Ball State University's Accounting program, I have Carroll High School to thank for most of my preparation and success so far during college. No doubt about it....this school is top notch. Parents that want and desire their children to succeed in life will find that Carroll delivers. Students wishing to major in Accounting, Business Administration, or Finance will find Carroll's business classes preparatory and rigorous. The extra-curricular business programs at Carroll (such as the Academy of Finance), prepared me for my internships and gave me real-world experience to apply to my college courses. The recent graduates of this school will soon realize that their education at Carroll has strongly prepared them for college. I am very proud to be a Carroll graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

As a student of this school, I feel that I was lucky to have received my education at Carroll High School, at least academically. The administration is biased and focuses mostly on athletes and those who excell academically, but if one is willing to work hard to receive a decent education, there is no better school in Fort Wayne or its surrounding areas. It prepares students for college very effectively and requires effort to excell, though the work is well worth the benefits of the education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2007

Needs to be more focused on students and not themselves. Too much worrying about rules and regulations versus actual commitment and teaching.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2007

Awful school. Ranked highly, however the administration is completely biased, obsessed with athletics, and frivilous with money. The only teachers hired are those who are relatives of school administrators, resulting in AWFUL teachers. I have never encountered a school with less respect for its students and their parents. I moved from Carroll to a small school in Northern Michigan that was provided much less money per student and received a MUCH better education than I received at Carroll. I would advise NO ONE to attend Carroll High School, or any of the other NACS schools. The middle schools are even worse than CHS. If you haven't moved to NACS district yet, reconsider.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 20, 2007

I had heard great things about this school system before enrolling my child, but after moving here, I found many disappointing things out about the high school. I have never encountered such arrogance and rudeness as I encountered at the grade 10-12 building. Both administrators and office staff have been extremely difficult to work with, and are unwilling to even listen to parents. My child has lost all respect for the principals and secretaries due to the way he has been treated there. Mind you, he's never been to the office for disciplinary reasons, only for assistance. They seem to be far more interested in making up new rules as they go along, than in providing any real service to the students. If I could do it over, I would not have sent him here. Academics aren't everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

526 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

80%

Average SAT score

1072

Graduation rate

97.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
73%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
15%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.8
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
23
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
81%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 72%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
Black 2% 12%
American Indian 1% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 Carroll Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46818
Website: Click here
Phone: (260) 637-3161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Mission
Huntertown, IN


Northrop High School
Fort Wayne, IN


Keystone Schools
Fort Wayne, IN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT