Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Fort Wayne, IN
Students enrolled: 518
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Jude Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
I wish more was being done for advanced students, for students who are ahead of the standard grade level.

St Jude Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
They talk to the kids about the "St. Jude Spirit", how God ignites the Holy Spirit within you to do many things and one of those things is to always try your best, even if it means that at first you don't succeed at something.


St Jude Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
The drill the "Three R's--Respect, Reverence, and Responsibility" into the kids from the moment they start school. The 3 R's are included in every newsletter, posted in every room, and brought up throughout the school day.

St Jude Elementary School 4

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
Overall, St. Jude is a great place to send your children and provides a terrific, academic and Christ-centered education. My children have been at St. Jude's for several years now and we have only ever had one teacher with whom I was not happy. As with all schools, areas of improvement can be found. I wish there was a more traditional playground available, and yes, the school building is old. But what St. Jude may lack for in aesthetics it makes up for in many other ways. I agree with another reviewer in that St. Jude could be doing A LOT more to help students who are advanced--I understand the need for providing for those students who are behind, but they also need to consider the students who are ahead as well; St. Jude should be a place that educates students at ALL levels. Finally, St. Jude is good size-wise; it is not too small, nor is it too large. And my recommendation to parents who feel they don't have a voice is to become more involved--there are many volunteer opportunities available!

St Jude Elementary School 3

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
no play ground and its a toss up on the teachers some are fantastic some are sketchy at best. if you want a diverse school go somewhere else faculty is made up of parishoners and ex students and if you know the parish you will know what i mean. if your not part of the clique you will feel left out of any decision making.
2 people found this helpful


St Jude Elementary School 2

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
At first I loved St. Jude - until I started comparing it to other Catholic schools in town. VERY outdated building. No computers in classrooms. No playground. The gym is a joke. And, unless you are in one of the few big families who attend or a member of the school board, you don't have a voice. If your child is ahead, expect no assistance at all. Resources are only for the kids who are behind so the school can raise its test scores. I can't wait to switch next year.
2 people found this helpful

St Jude Elementary School 3

Posted July 25, 2011
- a parent
school is nice. playground is the parking lot. like any other school some teachers are better than others some shouldnt be teaching at all but thats a very small percentage same everywhere. has its share of problems but overall a very nice school great location minus the playground.

St Jude Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a parent
St. Jude is a wonderful school that teaches children so much about God and their Catholic faith. Plus the academics are rigorous, yet gently and naturally taught. Faculty and staff are fantastic! St. Jude students are expected to excel and they rise to this challenge every year.


St Jude Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2005
- a student
I am not a parent but i went to St. Jude's from 1st through 8th grade. I highly recomend it. The teachers were so nice I still go back to vist some of my old teachers. The teachers were willing to work one on one with anyone that needed help before and even after school. The students are even nice and carring people.

St Jude Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
Fantastic school. Emphasizes a core in education with a strong background in religion. Teachers and staff are all top notch. Highly recommend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Jude Elementary School
2110 Pemberton Drive, Fort Wayne, IN  46805
(260) 484-4611
Last modified St Jude Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St Jude Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top