Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodside Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 963 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

Awful school! Whoever came up with the block schedule as an idea...got it wrong. Complete disorganization. Teachers do not return emails! Terrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

School is too big to manage a decent education for middle school age kids, the 'block' style schedule is a joke. You cannot hold a 10 -14 year olds attention for 90 minutes per classroom session (vs. the traditonal 50 mins), plus have the class meet every other day (vs. the tradtional daily schedule). If your child is self directed at age 10, he or she might get an education here, otherwise forget about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Woodside Middle School has some good teachers and a nice facility. If your child is self montivated he will do will but if your child lacks organization or motivation he will fail and not perform well. Administration at this school is extremely poor. If your child does have any problems here, expect them to go into CYA mode rather than deal with the issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

Is a great school. They are supportive of the students and provide a really good education. My only complaint is teachers that don't update their website so that parents can monitor what needs to be turned in when. Also I have emailed several teachers and never got a response. Not professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

Woodside Middle School is a great, great school. When I was in Elementary school, ready to crossover to middle school, they had us attend an orientation, which really helped me get to know the school. The kids are great, and the teachers are even greater. I am soooo glad I am going to this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

Woodside is a great school! Woodside has block scheduling unlike a lot of the other schools around and you only have 4 classes a day. but the teachers are so great and want you to do well! I feel very safe and happy at woodside I especially love the eighth grade trailblazer teachers they are so awesome and give you a fair chance to do well! Woodside rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2008

I love going to Woodside! It doesn't have any violence, the other students are great, and the teachers are fun and helpful. They offer many classes and I like getting to choose what I can do. GO WOODSIDE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

I loved this school, all the kids were friendly, and it was a fun place to learn. Teachers are very helpful, and make learning interesting. Way better than my new middle school, because I just moved. :(


Posted November 3, 2007

I love this school! When I still lived in Fort Wayne, I actually liked to go to school! All the teachers were kind and helpful, and the students were very accepting so I made many friends very quickly. I wish I still went there now, as I have had to move to St. Louis, Mo.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2007

I go to woodside and it's the best school ever! The teachers are awsome and you meet a lot of new friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2006

Overall I believe that this school is one of the best around. My children do very well and are helped when they need it. Most of the teachers are very helpful. My one complaint is the principal. He does virtually nothing in terms of knowing and getting involved with the students. He never comes out of his office during the day and would not be able to pick out most of the kids at his school from children going to other schools. This principal needs to get more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

I feel that accademically, Woodside is a great school. I have two children there and both are doing extremely well. They take advantage of several extra curricular activities. There does seem to be a lack of communcation down to the parents, but this is the first year in a new school, so maybe everyone isn't organized yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

Woodside Middle is one of the best middle schools around. Even more with the beautiful new building.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2005

I'ts a great school. Be weary of kids who are mean and the assistant principal. But really, good people, good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 72%
Black 7% 12%
Asian 5% 2%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A46%
Special education 7%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2310 W Hamilton Road South
Fort Wayne, IN 46814
Website: Click here
Phone: (260) 431-2701

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summit Middle School
Fort Wayne, IN


Emmaus Lutheran School
Fort Wayne, IN


Roanoke Baptist School
Columbia City, IN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT