Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ascension Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 109 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Wayne

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $101,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

Former student. Great school, I did not start ascension until the fourth grade and the small Christian environment gave me close friends I will never forget. The close one-on-one student teacher aspect the school offers is great for those who want caring help and an open classroom. As ascension does not offer a way to learn ahead of your grade level as many public schools are now pushing advanced courses. I felt very prepared when moving on to honors and advanced classes in my public high school. As I love the big public school environment, I believe the small private school environment helped me build close friends and a learning experience I would never be able to receive growing up in a large public school.


Posted February 25, 2012

We have had children at Ascension since 1998 and could not imagine having our children at any other school. The pastor, principal, teachers, parents and students all work together to make this the best experience that you could imagine for your child. Our first child to graduate from Ascension went on to achieve the Concordia Scholar Award at Concordia Lutheran High School and we give much credit to the caring, top-rate education that he received at Ascension. He and his brother who has also graduated from Ascension are both active in the church and look forward to their months that their group ushers. We have one son remaining at Ascension and he is doing very well academically also. The teachers truly care for each and every child and go out of their way to make sure that each child can be successful. The parent involvement is fantastic, and our new families are encouraged to join in which just makes our school that much stronger. Once again, I cannot sing the praises of Ascension Lutheran Church and School strongly enough and would encourage any family searching for a Christ centered education for their children to stop in and check out Ascension. You will be amazed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I am consistently inspired and humbled by the spiritual commitment of Ascension's staff and congregants to provide an exemplary, Christ-centered experience for their students. Ascension is growing by leaps and bounds thanks to a consistent dedication of time, talents and offerings from the greater church community. With each new growth spurt, the school has prayerfully moved in a Christ-centered direction. That unwavering spiritual focus is apparent in each staffer's passion for excellence both in and out of the classroom. An Ascension child is a loved child. Each in his/her own way, the child is an achiever, a leader, a teammate, an explorer, a child of God and shining light that is handled with great care each step of the way. I'm looking forward to sending my own children to the school one day. Cultivated in God's grace and love, Ascension is a wonderful place to grow!


Posted August 15, 2009

Our family came to Ascension when the kids were in grades 1, 4 and 6. All three graduated with the best education academically, spiritually and socially. Ascension offered great opportunity for involvement in sports, music, drama, and art. If you are looking for a school that has teachers, principal, staff and pastor working together in the best interest of your child, this is your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I'm a former student of Ascension Lutheran School and I was taught everything I needed to know to help me transition into high school both in academia and in my spiritual life. With daily chapel services, applicable religion classes, and teachers that are there for the student's needs and not their own, Ascension is a place where I will want to send my children someday because I know that they will receive both a superior education and large growth in their faith and walk with our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

Outstanding! What a wholesome gem of good honest values and teaching methods that work, encircled in Christ's love for us to share with others. We absolutely love the school and the staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

The school is excellent in education, morality and superb principal and teacher guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

This is a great school if you are looking for a small Lutheran setting with conservative Christian values and leadership. Ascension offers amazing things for being a school of about 80 students. Classes are multiple grades, with K, 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, and 7-8 being the groupings. As kids move up grade to grade, they go from being the younger kids in a class to being the older kids, so they get to have older students as examples some years, and then the following year they get to be the leaders and examples themselves. They also can be challenged in this way. For Ascension's small size, they also have great sport's programs. Last year, in a Lutheran league of 17 schools - some with as many as 500 kids - Ascension was in the final four in both soccer and volleyball, had a 18-8 boys basketball record, and went to Nationals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2007

This is the best Lutheran School I have ever been involved with. The kids are all friends of each other... there are no separate groups, and rarely are kids left out. It is amazing the hours that the teachers put in at Ascension. The sports program is also great - and there are no cuts - and everyone plays in every game. Ascension also has amazing ISTEP standardized test scores every year, takes great Indiana History, Outdoor Ed, and Washington, D.C. trips, and really makes the kids get the best experience possible. In sports this last year, Ascension was in the final four of soccer and volleyball, and was one of two schools to go to the Lutheran National Basketball Tournament in Valporaiso, Indiana. The trip was supported in full by the parents group, the principal, and the board of ed. In Track, the kids are winning every meet! A+ Ascension!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

I am sad to read some of the previous comments posted. I have had to children attend Ascension, one started in 3rd grade and the other began in kindegarten. Our family has had a great experience with the school. Yes, the school is tough academically, but I would not want anything less. The only down fall is double grades in the classroom, but not much else can be done with a small school that depends mostly on the church to support it. Children have an excellent opportunity to compete in a variety of sports from 4-8 grade. Also the atheletic teams are very competitive year in and out. Parents are encourage to be involved and many are. If you are looking for a Confessional Lutheran School, or just wanting your child to be educated in a school with a strong Christ centered emphasis this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

If you don't mind your children going to school all day and then coming home and doing multiple assigments at home, this is the school for you. I feel like kids should have more time to be a kid. I don't understand why the kids are pushed to be at a higher grade level than they are in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

Many students there felt unwelcomed or harassed. The boys seemed to be get more attention than the girls. It was very unwelcoming. Students did not recieve many Science and Social Studies classes, but always included biblical studies. After we made the discision, we decided to go to the public schools. Much better education and more welcoming.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2006

This is a great school. I would recommend it to any parent that is looking for a Lutheran School in this area. The teachers and principal are great and so are the students. Every child has the opportunity to participate in any sport of their choice and/or band. You can't say that at a public school. I'm sorry the previous person that commented felt the way he did. It takes communication from the parents/student and faculty to be successful in any school. Jane Doe P.S. We were newcomers also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

I would not recommend this school for anyone other than those that started in preschool, if that. It is very unfriendly to new students. Some teachers are wonderful, but are held back by the principal. If you join the schools sports team, get ready to ride the bench, if you are a new student. Other parents are very involved. Not realy much room for new parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 74%
Multiracial 4% 4%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Black N/A 12%
Hispanic N/A 7%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 5%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Tommy Franke
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (260) 486-5793

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8811 St Joe Rd
Fort Wayne, IN 46835
Phone: (260) 486-2226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT