Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lindley Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 404 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2012

I was very happy with this school for my daughter in Kindergarten and 1st grade. However once she got into 2nd grade I noticed less Spanish and grades getting bad. She just finished 4th grade. I'm very disappointed in the teachers and the new principal. This school has gone downhill real fast. A lot of parents are not happy and some are not bringing their children back next year. I don't want to change my daughters school for the last year. But I will not continue to go on to Portage Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

I like Lindley, I always have. I went to Lindley k-5 and had a great experience. I had some great educators and came out of there feeling prepared both socially and academically. I was excited to send my son there because I wanted him to have a great start to an education like I did. All and all, that has been the case thus far. (he is only in 1st gr.) I think that Lindley has some really great teachers that truly care about our children. We have a new principle and she seems to be doing a good job. I appreciate her "no nonsense" attitude. I feel like Mr. Arthur was a nice guy but he was not getting the job done properly. Our test scores & stats could be higher however, I think we are working on that. Now for the only neg aspect I have found so far. I am not sure this Spanish immersion program is what it is cracked up to be. When my son was in kindergarten, I was amazed by the info he was retaining in another language. Amazing! Yet, it is not the same in first grade. It seems as if the consistency is not there. If our kids are going to benefit from learning another language they need to be consistenly challenged in each grade so by the time they leave Lindley they are near fluency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

The teachers at Lindley really care about what their doing. The best group of teachers I've ever seen, I always feel informed. My three kids attended Lindley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My two children attend Lindley. We are quite satisfied with this school, not only because it teaches academic subjects well and it's the only urban school in town with an immersion program in Spanish. Lindley, I've also noticed, teaches very important ethic values and they reinforce them in every step of the learning process. The philosophy of this school recognizes that education is not only about the data learned in subjects.Teachers are very good, very engaged and enthusiastic about what they are doing. They, as much as possible address the individual needs of every student and they keep in touch with the parents involving them in their children education. Mr. Arthur, the principal,is also doing a great job in running the school efficiently and smoothly. I would recommend this school to any parent without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

We have been really happy with Lindley this year. Our son is in Kindergarten this year and we will continue to send him there through 5th grade. The Spanish program is great and will be a benefit for our son in the future. The school is great about having a parent stop in to check on their child. I took my son to school the other day and I stayed for a hour and a half. His Spanish teacher was fine with it! She's been great this year! The principal, Mr. Arthur, is also a benefit. He really seems to care about the kids and his school! Do not hesitate about sending your child to Lindley!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 10%
White 27% 72%
Black 20% 12%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 17%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 Ardmore Avenue
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
Phone: (260) 467-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT