Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Portage Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a community member
This School Does Not Have Excellent teachers Strong principal/school leadership Challenging academic programs I Used To Be A Student At Portage. I Transfered To Kekionga Middle School. Kekionga Is Way Better Than Portage. Teachers Make Me Feel Safe At Kekionga Middle School. I Transfered Because I Was Being Bullied By Girls At Portage. The Teachers Never Did Anything About It. I Am So Happy With Kekionga !

Portage Middle School 1

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
This school is so run down. My daughter missed 3 days of school at the begining of the year because it was so hot in the classrooms she got sick everyday!


Portage Middle School 1

Posted July 18, 2010
- a parent
The bully system is the worst. There are fights almost daily. This school should be closed. I am so happy when I transferred my son out of there.

Portage Middle School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Portage is a great school. My son is in the 7th grade and really enjoys going to school here. He's been through alot the past 2 years and Portage staff and students have been wonderful! I would definitely refer Portage over any other Middle school in FWCS.

Portage Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2009
- a student
Portage is awesome. They have great rules. THey teach the kids responsibility, but also makes them feel older. They have great programs. If u had 2 choose a middle school,.... portage is the place!


Portage Middle School 2

Posted November 03, 2007
- a parent
The teachers need to be more personable. Me and my daughter walk around the school, we passed by several staff members and not one person said hello or smiled, nothing. Their needs to more control out front after school, I've seen kids tripping one another, shoving, and wrestling.

Portage Middle School 3

Posted August 13, 2007
- a student
This school has some pretty cool teachers, although some of them can be strict. The school is alright over all, but I wish there would be more field trips. So over all I think this school is cool especially when we got a Kelz concert that was awesome!

Portage Middle School 4

Posted February 19, 2006
- a student
HI I am a student at Portage. I am in the seventh grade. I agree with most about students bulling others I would like to change that. As well our school is interesting we have lots of fun teachers who help us out with whatever problems we have and also teach us many new things that we haven't learned yet.Gym is great except the test that we have to take. I think that we need more people to be in sports that actually wants to be in the sport. Our coaches need to take it to the next leval to help us win some games. We also need more things to do after school. This paragraph about Portage is done by Christyann McNutt


Portage Middle School 3

Posted December 25, 2005
- a student
Im Chris N. And I like portage a lot. I just dont like most of the kids. I would have a lot better experiance at portage without the percent of kids there that dont want to learn.

Portage Middle School 2

Posted November 21, 2005
- a parent
I am not a parenet but i am a student of portage middle school.So i should know evan better how the school is ran. I also agree that the bully busting system does not work as well as the teachers said it should work. All they do is pop in a couple movies and expect all of our problems to go away. It does not work.There are to many kids going around being bullied at this school. Also the teachers do not really help you with your problems. It seems like they are just there to get the pay check and leave. This school is not a good school to send your child if they do band or orcastra. Portage is not a very good school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Portage Middle School
3521 Taylor Street, Fort Wayne, IN  46802
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (260) 467-4500
Last modified Portage Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top