Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 389 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

The new principal is young and inexperienced. The teachers tend to make the rules, not the other way around. My daughter had Mrs. Noel for Kindergarten, and I sought out a house outside of the school district to get our daughter away from her. The principal refuses to change her classrooms, after numerous requests and an obvious problem. This teacher has critiqued my parenting, career, and educational goals for my daughter. The rest of the staff is equally as unqualified. Starting with the school nurse that tells the children to "stop crying" when they are injured, to the gym teacher that has them run laps around the road for physical activity rather than play games in their acres of open field behind the school. I would highly recommend you consider other schools before sending your child here. The whole experience has been a disaster for my family, and especially my daughter. She used to love school, now she begs me not to go because her teacher doesn't let her "ask questions and learn".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

Under the new leadership of the current principal, we are removing our daughter. It is abundantly clear that under the oversight of this new and newly installed principal, that autistic kids who have behavioral challenges will be expelled. Having contended with the school for my autistic daughter, by means of a lawyer, the new principal has made it her agenda to expel my daughter. At every instance of behavioral issues, a new "manifestation for termination" is issued. To count, twice in less than 2 months. An underhanded tactic to force my daughters expulsion that we cannot afford to fight, due to legal costs. The current principal has no qualms about lying, using underhanded tactics to enforce her will and requesting other teachers to communicate with parents. Unethical and far below standards for "Principal leadership." The previous principal NEVER used such tactics and worked with us as parents and our child. On the positive side, the teachers are caring and responsive. If your child has autism and has behavioral issues that directly correlate with the diagnosis of autism, do not send your child to Shambaugh. The current principal will expel them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Perhaps a little baised, but as a former student (now a college senior) and with news of their autism class I returned to Shambaugh and it remains a great looking school and the feeling you have inside promotes security about school performance. The teachers I had that still work there also remind me that their longevity is not just based on seniority but on their "too good to be fired" teaching skills. I would highly reccomend Shambaugh be looked at as a school for your children.


Posted August 25, 2009

I will go against the grain and say that I am glad that Mrs. Carr is no longer there. Since the new prinicpal has come in, it feels like a different school. I have three kids who have attended Shambaugh. For the most part, the teachers are great, but the execution needed help. I have high hopes for the school going into the future. Good luck Mr. Smiley and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

My 12 year old daughter went to Shambaugh 2nd thru 5th grade and my 7 year old is in 1st grade at Shambaugh. My 12 year old had alot of memorable experiences and loved every one of her teachers. My 7 year old is really coming out of her shell. She use to be very shy and now is talking and playing with her class mates. I think it is because her teacher Mrs. Renbarger makes her feel comfortable and encourages her. The staff is really great,everyone is so friendly. The teachers let you know if they are concern about your child, whether it be behavior or grades. If I'm ever concerned about something Mrs. Carr or any teacher is always there to listen and help me. Mrs. Carr is a great principal! I think Shambaugh is the best elementary school in the Fort Wayne Community School district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

My two youngest children went to Shambaugh. Mrs. Carr is the greatest as a principal, and the parents are friendly and active. While there were a couple of questionable teachers, overall this is the best teaching staff in FW.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 72%
Black 11% 12%
Multiracial 8% 4%
Hispanic 6% 10%
American Indian 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5320 Rebecca Street
Fort Wayne, IN 46835
Phone: (260) 467-6150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT