Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
The principal, Mrs. Rodgers is awesome. She has a common sense approach to everything and you can tell the staff is comfortable around her. So far, Mrs. Bellinger & Miss Waite have been the best teachers!

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Shambaugh teachers generally don't require students to remain in their desks for long periods. Even if they are reading, they are encouraged to find a comfortable spot in the room. I think they understand kids will check out if they become to bored, so they find activities to keep them (at least partly) interested. Of course there is room for improvement, but given the time restraints, they do an amazing job. I would like to see more time put into sending learning materials home (flashcards, simple games, etc.). I think most parents are happy to help and repetition is key to elementary ed!


Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
There is very little homework. If it weren't for my sons planner, I wouldn't know what he's learning in school. That can make it hard for parents to support the school's agenda.

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Shambaugh offers their students academic challenges consistently. The work gets harder as the year progresses and I think they don't obsess with standardized tests to gain learning. They're are many hands on projects instead. I wish though that there was more time given to complete assignments. It seems everything operates in 20 minute increments and many things (like writing) just starts to flow by the time they are rushed into the next thing. I think it's unnecessary stress on young kids.

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Shambaugh has a special education room led by the sweetest and most loving teacher I've ever met. Her name is Mrs. Beer and I challenge anyone to find someone who doesn't agree! She is the best person to work with children with special needs. This school also mainstreams children with less debilitating issues like ADHD. They really do their best to resolve issues for these kids. Their goal is to get them back in class ready to learn. For the most part, I see a much softer approach than I personally would use.


Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
For the most part, Shambaugh does encourage honesty, integrity and fairness. However, sometimes I witness teachers and assistants yell/punish groups of children instead of figuring out which student specifically was responsible...sort of guilty by association. I'm guess this is common among schools though given they are responsible for so many students at one time.

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
In my opinion, 6 out of 10 stars is grossly low for Shambaugh! I have 2 boys who attend and it's been a great experience. Yes, there have been small problems along the years but the principal has a talent for conflict resolution! I would also say at least 90% of the staff have kind hearts and are there for the right reasons. The PTA is very active, which shows how open the administration is to parents being as involved as they want. We came from a private Christian school and weren't feeling heard or supported. Shambaugh has been the opposite! We are very lucky to live in their district!

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
Shambaugh is an amazing school full of wonderful teachers and staff. They really care about the students, and anyone who tells you any different doesn't have all the facts (or is refusing to look at all the facts). Shambaugh teachers care more than any other school my children or I have been to. Mrs. Rodgers is an amazing principal with a huge heart. Shambaugh students are held to high expectations in both academics and behavior. Send your child to Shambaugh, and expect to get the best education possible in Fort Wayne.


Willard Shambaugh Elementary School 4

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
I am appalled by the comment and acquisition made against Mrs. Noel. All 3 of my children had her and have excelled and believe because of her.I would take her advise in a heartbeat,because she is very experienced and lives her job.

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
Under the new leadership of the current principal, we are removing our daughter. It is abundantly clear that under the oversight of this new and newly installed principal, that autistic kids who have behavioral challenges will be expelled. Having contended with the school for my autistic daughter, by means of a lawyer, the new principal has made it her agenda to expel my daughter. At every instance of behavioral issues, a new "manifestation for termination" is issued. To count, twice in less than 2 months. An underhanded tactic to force my daughters expulsion that we cannot afford to fight, due to legal costs. The current principal has no qualms about lying, using underhanded tactics to enforce her will and requesting other teachers to communicate with parents. Unethical and far below standards for "Principal leadership." The previous principal NEVER used such tactics and worked with us as parents and our child. On the positive side, the teachers are caring and responsive. If your child has autism and has behavioral issues that directly correlate with the diagnosis of autism, do not send your child to Shambaugh. The current principal will expel them.

Nearby schools

Willard Shambaugh Elementary School
5320 Rebecca Street, Fort Wayne, IN  46835
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (260) 467-6150
Last modified Willard Shambaugh Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top