Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St Rose Of Lima School

Private | PK-8 | 192 students

We are best known for value-centered program.

 
 

Living in Franklin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2012

My children started at St. Rose when they were in 4th and 6th grades. We d homeschooled for several years, and I believed that St. Rose would be the "next best thing" to that level of one on one attention. Within a week of their first school year at St. Rose, I knew I d made the right decision. St. Rose teachers and staff take time to know your family and truly care about your children, and the entire school works together to provide a nurturing, supportive environment for learning. Attentive faculty and staff provide inventive curriculum which is constantly adapted as student needs are assessed. After five years with St. Rose, one of my children will be a junior at Roncalli, living up to their high standards of excellence and on the track to receiving an academic honors diploma. My other child placed in the top ten scores on Roncalli s placement test and will also take a full load of honors level classes his freshman year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

Choosing St. Rose has been the best decision we could have made for our daughter. St. Rose is a value-centered learning environment that ensures academic excellence. I am thankful for the wonderful support network of teachers, staff and parents. There are opportunities for involvement for both parents and children and numerous extracurricular activities to add to a child s experiences. I believe they are providing my child with the knowledge, skills and experiences to reach her full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

We have a 2nd grader at St. Rose, this is our second year and we could not be happier. The teachers really care about the children as individuals. The teacher and child ratio allows that individual attention. The parent involvement is very strong which helps ensure strong values are upheld. St. Rose has more sports and clubsfor the grade school level than the public schools. It was refreshing to hear children saying the Pledge of Allegiance which is something the Public School has taken out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

An atmosphere like no other around, St Rose has provided our children a fun filled and enriching education. We were very happy to see St Rose' ISTEP to be the highest around. Its a wonderful blend of Christian values and wonderful academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Best decision I ever made....Taking my 1st grader from public school system to St. Rose. My now 2nd grader has made a complete 360! Excellent Outstanding School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

A school that provides and practices value-centered education. A great learning environment for students. The school consistently has all student equaling or exceeding state standards. With state of the art technology, good facilities and wonderful teachers it is a great school for our grandchildren.


Posted April 29, 2010

I currently have 2 children at St Rose. We've been at the school for 4 fast years. I am so pleased with the progress of my children. The academics are strong but it is the environment that makes St Rose the right place for my kids. The teachers are caring, the parents are involved, the children are respectful. My kids are learning and developing in a compassionate, faith based community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have had my daughter at St. Rose since the first grade, my son started there in Pre-K. Moving my family to St. Rose school was the best decision we could have made. The small interpersonal relationships between students and teachers is wonderful. The parents are involved, and they are truly interested in the children suceeding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I went to St. Rose from 5th through 8th grade. I came in behind other students my age and now I am getting ready to go of to college something I never new was possible for me because of how much trouble I had in school. Everyone at St.Rose cares and will do all they can to make you the best you can be!!! I love St.Rose and still help with all I can at the school because we are all a big loving family! Trust me St. Rose is the place for everyone!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2009

I've had 4 children attend St. Rose. Two of them have graduated, my oldest daughter is a freshman at Franklin High School where she is taking Honors classes and doing very well in all of them. She has also been involved in sports. I know that St. Rose has well prepared her for this step in her life, and given her the right tools in dealing with the pressures of High School. I have two daughters left at St. Rose and I am thankful that we are a part of this community. I love all the things that are offered at St. Rose, the Extended Care program, sports, Mass and Scouts to name a few. I could not ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

I was a student at St. Rose. St. Rose had wonderful teachers that gave every student the attention they needed, but middle school did not prepare me at all for high school both academically and socially especially if you went on to a public highschool. I would fully recomend St. Rose up until middleschool. Specificaly if your child intends on attending a public highschool, I strongly suggest leaving after 5th grade. Many of my class of 20 stayed until 8th grade year, and most, if not all of us debated leaving mid-year because our Middle School experience was most definately dificult and unpleasant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

My son has been a student at St. Rose since he was a 3 yo preschooler, and he is in 6th grade now. We are now parishioners at St Rose, but at the time we enrolled him, we attended St. Barnabas, and live in the extreme northern part of Johnson county. All of the teachers at St Rose have been excellent. Moat of the staff know my son and myself by name. The school is small, but, there are plenty of extracurricular activities to involve my son--scouts, football to name two. The extended care program is excellent, and provides excellent aftercare for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Our son attended the St. Rose Preschool program and is currently enrolled in Kindergarten. St. Rose provides a nurturing environment, well-rounded curriculum and opportunity for spiritual growth. The dedicated educators and staff both encourage and provide the opportunity for our child to excel towards achieving his personal best in all he does. We are thrilled to be part of the growing St. Rose family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

St Rose has been a great experience for us. Many of the teachers have been there since the school started and it shows that they care about the kids. Great enviorment for any kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We are so very happy that our children attend St. Rose. The teachers are creative and helpful to one another. Each grade has one class and the class sizes are small. We feel as if every teacher knows who we are and who our children are. Parental involvement is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Multiracial 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 0%
Black N/A 12%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 10%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Rebecca Floyd
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (317) 738-3583

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Indianapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • kickball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parental involvement is high! parents help in classrooms, assist with fundraisers, talent show, field trips, tutors, facility maintenance and technology committee.
More from this school
  • Our ISTEP scores have been among the best in our geographic area and always exceed the state average. We are proud of our students and teachers! Check out http://www.stroselions.net/St_Rose_School/IstepDJArt7-2-10.pdf We offer multiple communications links - two important ones are: Homework Watcher which is an email sent home daily by the teachers; real time Twitter feed to our web site
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Franklin Community Schools
Whiteland Schools
Edinburgh Schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Roncalli Catholic High School
Franklin Community HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

114 Lancelot Drive
Franklin, IN 46131
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 738-3451

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT