Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
192 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Rose Of Lima School 1

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
St Rose is good in theory. A small school with a good Christian base. Children learn to treat each other with respect and be courteous. That is where it ends, except for the affluent. The middle school is really a waste of space. It is embarrassing to see how immature the students are, and how little they learn. Elementary school is ok, but giving a child multiple attempts to get a good score on a test is not productive. Unless you are a non-working parent and can dedicate much of your time to the school, or are highly affluent and can donate tons of money, your child is just a number. They will accept anyone to try and get their numbers up, including students that have been behavior problems in public school. I do believe some of the teachers genuinely care about the students, but the principal is cold and uncaring, unless it is a child of one of the above mentioned types of parents. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

St Rose Of Lima School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
It really depends on the teacher, but I'm finding many are burned out and don't care anymore.


St Rose Of Lima School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a parent
It is very obvious that parents that can't be present for every event, or parents that don't have as much money have children that are not treated as well

St Rose Of Lima School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of 4 students, 3 of which began their education at St. Rose of Lima as PreSchool students, we have been highly satisfied with the education and excellent life building skills St. Rose has provided. Each of our children have received personal attention for each individuals needs. With the new principal we have gained an Enrichment Program for advanced students, Google Chrome Technology for our middle school and several building renovations, to list a few. St. Rose has only excelled to be one of the best schools Johnson County has to offer. Currently being a State Rated A school has only proven St. Rose is on the right track. We love this school, and highly recommend it.

St Rose Of Lima School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
St. Rose is amazing. My daughter is in the Lion Cub classroom and all the teachers make her feel safe and happy. She sometimes starts the prayer at home before we eat and has the best stories about her day. We love how much extra care goes into her day. The staff greet us with smiles and go out of their way sometimes to accommodate for her and her happiness. The older kids seem to know her and are a nice group of role models. My daughter cheers about making it to school in the morning. That feels great and starts my day off right too.


St Rose Of Lima School 1

Posted July 15, 2014
- a parent
We did not find the school or the parish to be very welcoming. There is lack discipline, quality instruction, and academic rigor. There was a lack of discipline for serious issues and too much discipline for minor issues. The middle school loses students every year because of the already mentioned issues. Even with a new Principal the same issues seem to present themselves. The school is a private school and has a 'C' rating from the state. Along with all the other issues you have to ask yourself, why would I pay good money to get my child a 'C' quality education? It was easy to come to the conclusion that my child will not attend school there next year. I pray that the school can make the necessary changes and become the quality school it once was.

St Rose Of Lima School 4

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
My children started at St. Rose when they were in 4th and 6th grades. We d homeschooled for several years, and I believed that St. Rose would be the "next best thing" to that level of one on one attention. Within a week of their first school year at St. Rose, I knew I d made the right decision. St. Rose teachers and staff take time to know your family and truly care about your children, and the entire school works together to provide a nurturing, supportive environment for learning. Attentive faculty and staff provide inventive curriculum which is constantly adapted as student needs are assessed. After five years with St. Rose, one of my children will be a junior at Roncalli, living up to their high standards of excellence and on the track to receiving an academic honors diploma. My other child placed in the top ten scores on Roncalli s placement test and will also take a full load of honors level classes his freshman year.

St Rose Of Lima School 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
Choosing St. Rose has been the best decision we could have made for our daughter. St. Rose is a value-centered learning environment that ensures academic excellence. I am thankful for the wonderful support network of teachers, staff and parents. There are opportunities for involvement for both parents and children and numerous extracurricular activities to add to a child s experiences. I believe they are providing my child with the knowledge, skills and experiences to reach her full potential.


St Rose Of Lima School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
We have a 2nd grader at St. Rose, this is our second year and we could not be happier. The teachers really care about the children as individuals. The teacher and child ratio allows that individual attention. The parent involvement is very strong which helps ensure strong values are upheld. St. Rose has more sports and clubsfor the grade school level than the public schools. It was refreshing to hear children saying the Pledge of Allegiance which is something the Public School has taken out.

St Rose Of Lima School 4

Posted March 13, 2011
- a parent
An atmosphere like no other around, St Rose has provided our children a fun filled and enriching education. We were very happy to see St Rose' ISTEP to be the highest around. Its a wonderful blend of Christian values and wonderful academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Rose Of Lima School
114 Lancelot Drive, Franklin, IN  46131
(317) 738-3451
Last modified St Rose Of Lima School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St Rose Of Lima School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top