Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jacques Marquette Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 710 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2013

The teachers are very concerned for the children's needs and are nice and respectful. However, the office staff (two ladies) need strong customer service training. I've been there about four times and they are rude. The first day I went they were very rude with me and with all the parents that walked in the office. It's like a norm for them to be rude. The assistant principal cares if you have been helped. He's a nice man.


Posted April 15, 2010

I love Marquette School because the teachers take a sincere interest in helping the children learn and surpass their norm of doing good and instil in them the importance of doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

Marquette is a good school. The teachers are very concerned with the childrens' school performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

I believe that the principle and staff at Marquette are exemplary! They are concerned about the children and they are very respectful of parents. I must say that Mrs. Lawson, Mrs Davison and Ms. Kirkendall rate a ten. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

my son has been going there for 2 years. I love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

My son attends Marquette and I honestly have to say that I love the school. The principle is always busy, but she is kind and concerned. So is the assistant principle. I live in the Glen Park area, and I do not regret having my child attending a school that is on the other side of the city, because the teachers are team players and respect parents that want to be involved in their childrens education. The area is also one of the safest in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I feel Marquette has made some important strides in improving the quality of the education. Concentration is on Math, Science, Reading and Writing. Generally the teachers seem pleased to be Marquette. The Building is new and definetly welcoming, however as my son pointed out on the first day of classes one of the drinking fountians remains broke from last year. As a parent I have expereinced a lack of good decisions by the adminstration and teachers. On the little items I wonder why as educators and professionals they continue to lack the skill to make common sense decisions. The Big issues really did take a while to resolve and sometimes never fully were resolved to my satisfaction There is a lot of violence at the school between the kids and the school would do well to address this with some conflict resolution. The children, my wife and I have been disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

Marquette School provides an excellent learning environment for my child. The teachers are great and the principal is the best. The building in which they learn is new and equipped with the latest technology. Parent workshops are provided to help inform parents on what strategies and skills are being taught. Parents are well informed of there child's progress including grades and test scores. Children learn and good teaching occurs at Marquette
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

in my opinion this school needs a lot if help. the teachers speak very rudely to the kids and the parents. i personaly experience it. the priciple never calls back like she says she would. i agree this school has academic programs, music art,ect. yes i agree parents need to be more involved, me personaly i go to school during the day and work midnights, my husband works all day so it's very hard for us to be involved like we want to, because of that the teachers treat us like were the bad guys. i call the teachers&principle about my children and even go up there on report card day. some of the staff at this school is just disrespectful to us parents and our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

My Children are 1st and 2nd graders at Marquette. I have to say that overall I am pleased with the school. My children attended a charter school the previous year and I was very displeased. At Marquette the teachers and administative staff are very visible and are effective. It is very refreshing to walk into a school and hear the principal call the students by name. It shows how envolved with the students she is, and its not just her. They are making great strides to bring up the standers at Marquette and they are not doind it by living the children behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 12%
Multiracial 7% 4%
Hispanic 3% 10%
White 1% 72%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Becky Hollaway
Fax number
  • (219) 939-3966

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6401 Hemlock Avenue
Gary, IN 46403
Phone: (219) 881-3610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Liberty Baptist Academy
Lake Station, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT