Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12 & Ungraded|Public charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
21st Century Charter School is one of if not the best schools in Gary. Their college readiness program which allows students to work towards and earn an associates degree while still in high school and at no cost to the parents is nothing short of amazing. Couple this with the awesome leadership,caring and competent staff that always encourages parent involvement and you have a winning combination which is why my children and multiple family members attend 21st Century Charter School .

21st Century Charter School Of Gary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
The school has no integrity. There is no justification for the staff they laid off. This has made the existing staff feel insecure and in wonderment when they will lose their positions as well. Also kindergarten teacher looped with those preschool students and those students felt secure and safe and were growing leaps and bounds academically. They don't understand what has happened and feel abandoned.


21st Century Charter School Of Gary 1

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Preschool attendance is low this year but has only been in existence for one year. GEO lays off elementary and high school staff as a result. Instead of laying off a preschool teacher, they laid off a kindergarten teacher. The preschool teacher's license is in TX and has only started working there this school year. They just hired a title one teacher this year and then laid her off two months later. They laid off the Director of PreK -2nd grade. She got the preschool licensed in one year with the State and On My Way Pre K. She is 9 months pregnant. They laid another instructional coach who started a brand new library for the school and then laid her off. How awful can you get. They did this without any warning and at the end of the day so that we couldn't even say goodbye to our students.

21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a community member
I'm impressed with the staff and students at 21st CCS, each and every member of the staff takes the time to give each student what they need to succeed in life! 21st CCS has earned its A grade with the state.

21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a teacher
Excellent school, there's a small teacher/student ratio and the teachers and staff really care about the students, and about helping students succeed here, and beyond when they go off to college. School is led by a very strong, dedicated principal, Ms. West!


21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a teacher
As a new member of the high school teaching staff, I am very happy to have joined this great school. The teachers truly care about each and every student. On any given day, you will find many of them here hours after school tutoring and coaching the students. Also, the parents are very involved. It is great having the help and support from the parents. I believe that 21st Century Charter School @ Gary is a great school that is dedicated to providing its students with a strong education.

21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
This school has a great group of teachers and great leadership. In addition, the school is the best Charter School that Ball State University authorizes. 21st Century offers a great alternative to traditional public school in the Northwest region and they offer opportunities for every student to succeed.

21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted March 12, 2012
- a teacher
This is the best school ever in Norhtwest Indiana and even the state in Indiana. We are the best rated charter school and we have WONDERFUL students and staff.


21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
In the school year of 2010-2011 this school was the only school in Northwest Indiana to receive an A grade from the Department of education. 21st Century Charter School @ Gary has show that our students can acheive. Congrats to the students and Teachers of 21st Century

21st Century Charter School Of Gary 5

Posted December 06, 2010
- a parent
I approve of this school in every way! From my experience, the students are treated as young aspiring adults, and are expected to achieve at their highest potential. The students are not met with METAL DETECTORS to walk through every morning expecting to learn academics. The teachers have PERSONALITY which goes a long way in this world and helps the students to obtain the same. My child loves this school, and I have noticed his self esteem skyrocket since attending. Last but not least, 21st Century has a dynamite principal...u go girl! :)

Nearby schools

21st Century Charter School Of Gary
556 Washington Street, Gary, IN  46402
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (219) 886-9339
Last modified 21st Century Charter School Of Gary is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top