Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 3

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
As a parent, I understand the direction that the school is going with it's leadership, to get the past condition and leadership of the school back on track. I do not agree with some of the extreme student policies in place. I currently have a child that attends this school and will be attending college within 2 years. I have have experienced, since my son's attendance at this school, that there is not a balance with how students are disciplined. My son has been suspended twice this year for infractions such as being out of dress code and texting in class. My son was actually responding to a text that I sent him regarding transportation and was suspended on the spot for 2 days. Instead of a balance of having a detention system or in-school suspension in place, there is an extreme of out of school suspension. My son is a B average student and now he is missing time from school for minor infractions that will go on his school record. Again, I agree that there should be a discipline system in place but it should fit the crime or infraction. I will be looking more into this matter to fight for a balance of discipline to be in place.

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 1

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE AND NEEDS TO BE TORN DOWN THE KIDS WALK OUT THE CLASS WHEN THEY FEEL LIKE IT SMOKE WEED AND COME BACK IN THE TEACHERS ARE THERE FOR A CHECK AND A CHECK ONLY SINCE WHEN IS IT OKAY FOR A TEACHER TO HIT A STUDENT IN THE HEAD WITH A BOOK MY KIDS WENT A DAY AND A HALF AND WAS TRANSFERED RIGHT BACK OUT A SECURITY GUARD PUNCHED MY 15 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CHEST AND NOTHING WAS DONE ABOUT IT ALL BECAUSE MY SON WAS NEW GOT LOST AND WAS ON THE WRONG FLOOR I PRAY FOR ALL THAT ATTEND THAT SCHOOL AND BECAUSE I WAS AN ACTIVE PARENT THEY FELT LIKE IT WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH ME SO IF YOU LOVE YOUR KIDS AND CAN AVOID SENDING THEM HERE PLEASE DO SO SMH


Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 1

Posted September 09, 2011
- a student
As a CURRENT student at this school, I am ashamed to go here real talk. To be honest, I defend this school in public only when someone is bashing it...but in private, i am truly ashamed to attend here! The only thing that is nice and historic is the architecture which is in poor shape. The students are ghetto as heck and crazy! Many of the teachers are only there to collect a check! We are moving to Crown Point for better schools at the end of the semester. I was mad at my parents at first, but now I am ready. God bless Roosevelt but we have no other choice.

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a community member
My review of this outstanding school, Roosevelt High School is one of with great concern of its future, its time to stop putting down this land mark of a traditional public icon, that has and will continue to develop the future minds of young women and men who will with out any doubt contribute the to community, and nation as a whole with positive results for everyone to be proud of. Thank you for your support and investment in our kids.

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a student
I am a roosevelt student and i resent the fact that this school is the worse that parent has ever seen. You shouldn't judge anything that you haven't personally experienced. This is a wonderful school and the teachers are great. Every school has its faults but people need to stay off of roosevelts back and get a life


Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 1

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 5

Posted December 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy
730 West 25th Avenue, Gary, IN  46407
(219) 881-1500
Last modified Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Theodore Roosevelt Car & Tech Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top