Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 470 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

I want my child to have the best education. My son started attending in 1st grade and he is is now in 2nd grade. He comes home confused and says there are to many teachers that he has to see throughout the day like 3-4 teachers, and I have seen that some teachers dont want to put up with the childrens problem. Since my son started attending Chandler Elemantary his academics have gone downhill, when at his other school he was one of the top in his class. I regret moving and changing schools, going to try and move us back to his other school drstrict. We as parents have to demand from the teachers nothing but the best for our children, just like the teachers want the best from our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

I've had children at Chandler for almost 10 years and have seen a lot of changes. Currently, it is the best it has ever been. Chandler teachers, counselors and administrators are dedicated people and are doing an excellant job with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

I'm a parent and a teacher in another district. I am very pleased to have my children at Chandler. The staff are outstanding and the learning experiences beyond expectations for a public elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

I believe this school to be a poor example for our children. Some of the teachers do not want, and even try to avoid contact with parents. They seem to not want parent evolvement, and when a parent has a concern they seem to take no action to fix the problem. The special ed is one of the worst I've seen or heard of. They supply very little help. The children often are confused about what they are to do in school. We parents need to band together and not let the administrators or teachers dismiss us anymore!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

It is important to hold local school administrators accountable for their performance where the education of our children and the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 are concerned. Goshen Community Schools and its educators and administrators are a consistently below average performers. Please see the link below. Goshen Community Schools http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/snapcorp.cfm?corp=2315 I believe that if interested parents are accurately informed, they will get involved and hold school administrators accountable for their continued poor educational performance. As an example, please see Goshen Middle School for consistently below average in ISTEP scores. Here is the link: http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/snapshot.cfm?schl=1833
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 10%
White 42% 72%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Black 3% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 35%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Roy Hufford
Fax number
  • (574) 533-1702

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

419 South 8th Street
Goshen, IN 46526
Website: Click here
Phone: (574) 533-5085

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT