Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rural Community Academy

Public | K-8 | 135 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2008

As a community volunteer and a substitute teacher, I have made many observations such as: The entire staff treats all students and fellow staff members with respect, care, and compassion. The leadership is the very best you will find. The leadership and the staff have a vision for Rural Community Academy; and they work tirelessly toward that vision. Last summer after school was out I asked about six students, 'Are you glad school is out for the summer?' Of those six students, five students said, 'No'. To me that speaks volumes about the school and the entire staff.


Posted February 8, 2008

Our philosophy of education is teamwork for the adults and student growth coupled with a sense of self for the child. With dedicated staff who truly cares and understands what we are trying to accomplish, with a community who knows where we have been, and with parents who want their children to be the best that they can be, we work together to educate kids using a place-based curriculum to teach the Indiana State Standards. Our philosophy includes student growth in smaller learning environments with individualized, differentiated learning groups. When parent and community volunteers come together with our staff, something good happens. Anyone who cares about this school knows that the most gratifying aspect is the kids. To see these kids grow physically and emotionally, to see them accomplish learning, and to eventually see them become our peers, our neighbors, our co-workers, and our friends is what RCA is all about.


Posted February 8, 2008

I have been with RCA in various positions since its inception and through the transition to reality. The school has grown into an example for other charter schools to follow. Students work at their own level, the community is involved in curriculum presentation as well as extra curricular activities. Community members, staff and administration truly care about the welfare of the students. I would recommend to any parent that their student attend Rural Community Academy, a tuition free public Charter school in Graysville, Indiana where students learn from a placed based curriculum structure to meet their needs.


Posted February 8, 2008

Great School! I love the fact that I can think outside the box to teach students new concepts. The children learn better in an environment where the staff can present the material in a manner that is fun and the kids still learn. Also, a school where all the staff work together and get along is a benefit.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2008

I have had two children at RCA, both with very different learning styles. The teachers at RCA do a great job adapting to the needs of the students facilitate learning. I have found that the classroom activities are effective as the teachers use auditory, visual and tactile means of teaching a subject. The use of place-based education has given my children a sence of relevancy for thier education and a greater respect for people throughout the community. I can't express graditude I have for all of the volunteers. As a teacher within a separate school corporation, I have never witness such an eagerness for community involvement. Countless hours are donated by the community each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I have sent my children to this school since it first opened its doors four years ago. As the doors opened, a tidal wave of quality eduation, compassion, and patience ebbed onto anyone that chose to walk through them. Is it 100% perfect? Is anyone else perfect? The last time I checked, 98% is still an A. What's 20 hrs. a year of volunteer time when they are in school for 185 days a year and 7 hrs. a day. Our teacher's work very hard to make sure our children succeed. I think 20 hrs. is just a drop in the bucket.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

RCA is a school completely dedicated to the students. Together, the parents, teachers, and community members work to give students a great education and wonderful experiences. With place-based education as its backbone, RCA gives back to its community by teaching students to be successful and respectful citizens by being proud of their 'place'.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2008

This school is great! I have seen the staff truly make an effort to identify each child's learning style. They try to teach in a way that allows each child to flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Rural Community Academy is a wonderful school. I really like the opportunity to use a wide variety of teaching tools to teach my students. RCA provides experiences that students may not get at home, hands-on activities, community resources, parent and community involvement, and much more. We have an open door policy and anyone can come in to observe or help with activities at any time. Learning new things from our community members is a great experience for both teachers and students. My child is a student at RCA and is very excited about his school. He loves learning new things and really likes his teacher, classmates, and school. RCA is a school where students can feel comfortable and safe. Students are challenged at their own levels and have many opportunites to use their strengths and creativity. I am a very proud teacher and parent of RCA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2008

This school has excellent academic standards. The staff truly cares about the future of their students. They are always thinking outside the box and take the time to care.


Posted February 8, 2008

I am a recent addition to the staff at RCA and couln't be more pleased with the choice that I made. I have had no regrets due to the fact that my fellow peers have given me a grand welcoming. The environment is warm and comforting. I have seen many of the children excel and want to accomplish more. We are not limited to the suffocating feeling of being indoors and bored. The hands on experience teaches them far more than just learning a given subject. The children are shown where and when the things they are learning can be found. They are taught to express their ideas and be confident in themselves. This is a job that doesn't feel like a job because RCA cares about the physical, mental, and educational health of everyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2008

I love the flexiblilty offered to me as a teacher at RCA. Being held accountable is also a good thing
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2008

I have been a paraprofessional at Rural Community Academy for 4 years now. Our school is so awesome! The students get an excellent education and are involved in community activities that teach them about our community. Our students get one on one assistance and the progress they make is incredible.


Posted January 26, 2008

RCA is an awesome school for learning. The classes are limited to nineteen students which provides a student with a great deal of contact time with the teacher. The school building is old but in very good condition. A good education is not about how big and expensive the building is but what learn goes on inside. The teachers and staff are all very dedicated to the students getting a great education. The school will soon be offering transportation to and from area communities. The parents are required to be donate time to help the school with projects; I feel that this keeps parents involved with what their children doing as they should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

We had been in the public school Dist. for 5+ yrs...We'd never go back. This school considers the child as an indivual not a #. It is Skill based.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

Great School, great teachers, great principal! hot lunches,If you want your child to get a good education this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

RCA, I'm going into the 7th grade, I really like my school this year. I have a great teacher. I like having a small class. I have lots of friends here. And I like our new principal she cares about kids. We now have hot lunches. and yes we do have kids with learning disabilities I have a buddy that I have buddied up with who has problems like I do who is younger than me, I'm helping him get through some things I went through. so to the person who said we have alot of kids with learning and behavioral disabilities a medicore school. It is worth it, and we with learing problems need schools like this. and people like you are called bullies in the school world. RCA helps all children. I think you are the person with the ego problem that likes to push their weight around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2006

This school is wonderful. The teaching staff is always thinking of new ways to help the children. They are very innovative and creative in their teaching styles. The community is very much a part of this school. The state sees this school as a very worthwhile investment. Many companies are donating time, supplies, and money into the first rural charter school of Indiana. Many heads are turning in the statehouse for our small but dynamic school. The only downfall is the transportation. They are now offering hot lunches and many sports activities, along with the academics to back them up. I say 'Way to go RCA'. This is the way to the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

RCA, while making an admirable effort to meet the needs of rural kids, has been a dissappointment. The teaching staff work very hard and there are a few leaders who are honestly doing this work for the sake of the kids. Unfortunately, small town politics and people with large egos tend to push their weight around by spreading gossip and alienating many families. The school has a poor handle on discipline. Many of the school's students are kids with learning or behavioral disabilities. Parents have to transport their own kids back and forth, pack lunches ( no free or reduced lunch program there), and volunteer at least 20 hours to the school. It is a big job for such a mediocore school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 72%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 12%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A46%
Special education 30%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Susie Pierce
Fax number
  • (812) 382-4055

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 85
Graysville, IN 47852
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 382-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT