Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
441 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Greenwood School 3

Posted July 08, 2016
- a parent
Under different leadership this school could be great. Until the current principal is fired and most of the staff replacedthis school will be significantly below its potential. From low math scores, avoidance of addressing bullying in a real way, lack of leadership, lazy teachers, to poor communication. The faith education is not worth the cost. Look at other southside catholic schools. You will get more there.

Our Lady Of Greenwood School 1

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
My son attended OLG for most of the 1st grade. He was bullied continually throughout the year. We tried to deal with the matter through his teacher, principal, and even the pastor. No one seemed to care. My son did not feel safe in this school, so we decided to switch schools. Not one person from the school, or parish inquired as to why my son stopped attending so abruptly. Such a sad commentary on the "Christian teachings" of this institution. There are many great schools in the Greenwood area, this is not one of them!


Our Lady Of Greenwood School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Not sure where the previous parents saw such things, but the experience for my two children was tremendous. We moved to Greenwood area when my oldest was a 6th grader. Academically it was more challenging then where we were before and spiritually it has been great journey. Middle school is a tough age, and I think the faculty overall does a nice job. One bad apple can't be allowed to spoil the bunch.

Our Lady Of Greenwood School 3

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
For my middle school child, the school is not worth the money. I wish I had another option as this point. The new Middle School math teacher is one of the most immature and unprofessional teachers I have dealt with. The children need to prepare for their end of course assessment. They will be ill-prepared because of her. I hope the principal, administration, school board realize this asap. The fate of too many children's futures are at stake.

Our Lady Of Greenwood School 3

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children that attended OLG, things were good until Middle School. The principal allowed the teachers to walk all over him and allowed children, especially from certain families to get away with things that were unacceptable. The religious program may have taught religion but certainly did not display Christian attitudes and the religious leaders of the church did not display good behaviour for the children to look up to. The past middle shcool teachers (I think many in the middle school have retired now) were the worst bullies to the children, many times right in front of administration and nothing was done except comments made by the administration that the teacher's behavior was not exceptable. My children have lost much of their Catholic faith due to the actions of the teachers and the examples they saw from the religious leaders of the church and the way the church treated those in need yet spent money not approved by finance commities for housing for the leaders of the church.


Our Lady Of Greenwood School 3

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
The education is excellent. Teachers are really good. Administration is not good. Principal doesn't know how to handle bullying issues. The principal and school admin bully some parents. My child goes there for the education but don't expect a great principal or admin. Never thank parents for volunteering. Need a policy for bullying. Principal is nice but lacks skills of being a principal.

Our Lady Of Greenwood School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at OLG from 2nd-8th grade. Because of the incredible teachers, I am now attending Ball State as a special education and elementary education major. When I went on to high school I felt extremely well prepared for the increased course work. If it weren't for OLG I would not be where I am today. I still have younger siblings at the school and they love it just as much as I did years ago! The teachers are wonderful and there is a wonderful sense of community support. - former student

Our Lady Of Greenwood School 5

Posted October 01, 2011
- a parent
Great environment with excellent teachers. In a time when foreign language, art and music are being phased out due to budget cuts, OLG has been able to provide their students a balanced and challenging curriculum with the above mentioned specials. It is not a coincidence that it was named a Blue Ribbon school in 2010.


Our Lady Of Greenwood School 5

Posted January 09, 2011
- a parent
OLG is an amazing school. I have two children at the school. One in Kindergarten and my oldest in 4th grade. Both are autistic and the schools special needs teacher and staff go above and beyond making sure all the boys needs are met daily. The school staff and families are truly a family. They are always there in good times and bad times to assure your child is getting the best education. I highly recommend this school!

Our Lady Of Greenwood School 3

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children who are in the elementary grades and although they LOVE OLG I have concerns as costs continue to rise and programs and faculty are being cut. There is no foreign language until the upper grades and classroom sizes grow to allow for 30 per class @ the 3rd grade and up.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Greenwood School
399 South Meridian Street, Greenwood, IN  46143
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (317) 881-1300
Last modified Our Lady Of Greenwood School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top