Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greenwood Christian School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Greenwood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2009

Love this school !! small classes and great attention to students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

Love this school! I am very happy with my daughters teachers and the fact she is learning about Jesus everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Academically, I think the school is at an average level. The teachers, like any school, vary in their ability. My first child had a good teacher his first year, one who yelled a lot the second year; my other child had a good teacher one year and then a below average teacher the next. I found the current principal to have less credentials than I'd expect and she was difficult to deal with when concerns arose on several occassions. I think she's alright - this was just my experience. Overall, I'd send my children to this school again. I wanted a Christian worldview infused with their academics and I needed to have them both at the same school. If I had had another option, I would've tried somewhere else, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

My son went to preschool at this school and had a wonderful experience. I did not feel any competition to be involved. It was all very laid back. There is a sign-up sheet on the wall and you just sign it and show up to help. I helped at each event they had in the classroom. I liked the teachers and and the administrators also. Parent feedback was great. If there was a question I had about something, I felt free to just ask. The only think I did not feel was quite as great as it could have been was the academic part. It was only preschool though. I'm sure the higher grades are better in that area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

My child attended Greenwood Christian School from first through fifth grades. When he went to middle school, he was able to go into advanced, honor courses. I think that over the years, the school has strived to improve in all areas. The teachers truly care about the children. I would recommend Greenwood Christian School to anyone wanting an advanced curriculum in a caring, Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

My daughter is in kindergarten this year and has learned how to read and spell words that her friends who attend other schools have not learned. She has a homework sheet every week and has homework 4 of the 5 nights which lets me know what she is learning and where she needs help. Her teacher this year has had an open door policy and the first grade teacher seem to be the same way. Every class is tested each year to see where your child stands with his or her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

I do like Greenwood Christian School, my daughter attends the pre school. I don't like that you have to fight to get involved. They try to include parents but they do not follow through with contacting parents for help. I have signed up for 3 activities, but was not once called on when I was suppose to help. My daughter also needs occupational therapy, and they do not follow through with getting her help. I have had to call and contact Rise and Johnson County Special Services myself. This sould be a school resposiblilty. I am not bashing the school, I just think that it needs prayer and better leadership. They are Christ centered and I like that my daughter picks that up from them. She is on fire about what she has learned. I will continue to take my daughter to pre school, but looking for another christian Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

Academically, the school offers Spanish, Chapel, PE, Music, and Art in addition to the typical courses of study. I feel my child got exposure to these subjects but didn't acquire a demonstrated proficiency in them (yet an A or B score was given). For example, though in the Spanish program for a year, my child is unable to give me the names of the colors in Spanish (an A was achieved). In regards to typical courses of study, my child's performance definitely improved and I was pleased. While the leadership is friendly on most accounts, my experience is that time is made to hear parental feedback but a serious lack of respecting other opinions and assessing that feedback for its value has occured on more than one occasion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2004

Greenwood Christian is a wonderful school with many caring teachers. They do thier best to make sure every child recieves a great education and no child is left in the dark. I would recomend this school to anyone especially if you have a child who needs a little extra help and no one has cared in the past. They truly love the children and strive for excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

I had high expectations for my son when he first started going here this year. I don't think the school is as great as I thought it would be. I don't feel like the teachers communicate well with the parents. I feel left in the dard and unable to help my child at home because I don't know what he is struggling with in the class room. I think the greenwood public schools are better than this private school. Atleast they encourage parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 74%
Black 1% 12%
Multiracial 1% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Ellen Sheets
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (317) 859-5234

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2045 Averitt Road
Greenwood, IN 46143
Phone: (317) 881-9970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT