Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenwood Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 940 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2010

I love greenwood middle school. The teachers here are the best, and they do treat kids fairly. And every school has good and bad things about them, but not many are like greenwood. Are school teaches us rigt from wrong. So people can stop bad mouthing our school. Nothing is wrong about how are school handles the children. Its not the teachers that are bad its mainly the children. But its also not easy to handle 1000 teenagers. At least our school provides us with what we need and helps people that cant afford what they need. The school is handle well. Yeah, bus drivers might not be good but they get the stupents place to place. Some schools make kids pay to get on the bus. Stop talking crap about our school. Its just fine. The teahers are awesome and so are the activities. Thankyou. By gabby:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2010

I honestly think that Greenwood Middle School doesn't have many good qualityies that they post. I learn here and some saftey methods aren't very usefull. Favoristism and brownnosing is used consistently among students and some teachers. Many people have a huge ego that they are proud to show. Some teachers are funny and nice to be around. They also have a good disciplinary system in their class. But many teachers don't have a very good system. All-in-all, a two-star school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

My children went to GMS and now my granddaughter is a student there. They have awesome teachers and an awesome education program!!!!!


Posted December 14, 2008

I have to say that Greenwood Middle has given our child the first glimpse of negative, demeaning teachers, not the positive uplifting teachers they should be to these students of this age. Particular individuals forget that they should be positive role models with not their own agenda in mind, but the students for whom they teach. Coming from a wonderful elementary school in the district, it is hard to imagine the schools can be within 2miles apart. There are many good things about this school that are overshadowed by teacher and small town politics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

GMS is a pretty decent school. My kids are challenged and the teachers are dedicated. Be prepared for smaller school politics - especially around sports - watch out for favoritism. Guess this is probably an issue with any small school - however, the sports program is generally well-run and a good opportunity for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

My child went from a small, Christian school to GMS. Overall, it was a great experience. I was very pleased with most of the teachers. They were always willing to answer questions and concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I wanted my child to attend OLG, but Isom and now GMS have both been great. I have always worked and remained in the schools and I think that makes a huge difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

I am extremely happy with our change to the Greenwood school system. The teachers always make themselves available both at the High School and the Middle School. They seem to actually care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

I am not impressed at all with Greenwood middle school. I am also very disgusted with the bus drivers. In all I am very unhappy with the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 72%
Hispanic 9% 10%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Black 2% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A46%
Special education 14%N/A14%
English learners 4%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

523 South Madison Avenue
Greenwood, IN 46142
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 889-4040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Suburban Baptist School
Indianapolis, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT