Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Beck is my daughter's Kindergarten teacher and she is very kind. She is helpful and honest and the kids all love her. My daughter complains that she misses Mrs. Beck during breaks. She is very easy to discuss issues with and she is very effective with her students. She involves her students in many different activities and includes parents the majority of time. She is very good with working with parents and children who have odd "different" situations at home (divorce, weird custody arrangements). She has instilled a love for reading in my 6 year old. She had her reading 2 weeks into her school career at the age of 5 and actively explaining things to me that I as an adult didn't even understand!! She is WONDERFUL!!

Southwest Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
They teach children on multiple levels how to compete fairly but have a good teamwork attitude about it. Good sportsmanship. Parents are highly involved at this school.


Southwest Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
Every student is taught to respect others as they would want others to respect them. They are taught to respect their teachers and are strict on behavior standards, which I think is very effective.

Southwest Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has learned compassion and kindness towards others, even with diversity and differences. They teach to love thine own brother as thyself so to speak (not in these words)

Southwest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
They teach about filling your bucket and how full is your bucket and the entire school is effectively anti bullying


Southwest Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is in Kindergarten and was reading 2 weeks into school without any previous reading experience.

Southwest Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
I have had children attend Southwest and another elementary school in Greenwood that is usually looked upon more favorably for it has children from more affluent neighborhoods attending it. Our experience was better at Southwest. The focus is on the children and their education more than fundraisers,. status, and expensive field trips that do not have much academic value. The staff is very caring and you can tell there is strong leadership and structure. All children and all families are treated the same by staff and PTO members. At the other school, it felt like you had to be part of a popular family or a stay-at-home mom to be in with the PTO. Also, I was very impressed with the inclusive nature. At school functions, you always saw typically-developed children interacting with - on their own! - the special needs students. If I were to recommend a school to someone moving into Greenwood's district, I would recommend Southwest.

Southwest Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2005
- a parent
This school has wonderful academic programs.The teachers are very caring and inspirational to the children, and the principal is very pro-active and motivational, as well as being interested with parent concerns.There are monthly PTO meetings and parents who voluteer to help teachers on a daily basis.Great educational field trips are taken by all grades, and parents are always welcome to chaperone. A great school for a child to attend, for social and educational growth.As well as teachers who give individual attention to each childs needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Elementary School
619 West Smith Valley Road, Greenwood, IN  46142
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (317) 889-4090
Last modified Southwest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top