Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 288 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Griffith

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

I went to school here for 10 years. Many of the great teachers retired by the time that I got to the junior high (such as Mr. V). There were definitely favorites students. The kids acted like they ran the school over the teachers and never acted like they cared about the religion whatsoever. None of the children even attend mass outside of the school. But in the 8th grade many teachers went from being very kind to being very rude and talked behind many students' backs. They need a new principal. The science program is also very poor. Going through high school I had to learn many things that I should have in grade school. There were some pros to the school though. Mr. Starkey was one teacher who genuinely cared about the students. He always was around to help with homework or just talk things out if someone was being harassed. He solved things the right way. He didn't let things slide. More teachers should be like that. This school needs to step it up and give the children the real catholic education they deserve.


Posted January 30, 2014

Office staff , certain teachers, and above all the Principle Mrs. Maskovich are VERY VERY RUDE!! Principle Mrs. Maskovich is very rude by not greeting ALL parents and blatantly turning up her nose to you. If your child is not head of the class or an honor student, she and certain teachers will pay no attention to your child. The Diocese should look into these complaints in order to ensure keeping Catholic schools open and thriving!! I cannot express the amount of disgust I have for these people mentioned!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

This is the worst school ever. Don't send your kids to school here. There is a bad principle who gives out the Wi-Fi password to her favorite students. There is a lot of bullying in this school..The teachers here have a lot of favored students. There is a lot of students espically in the Junior High that say bad words and put up the middle fingers at the teachers when they are not looking. If you are thinking about sending your kids to this school don't do it.


Posted February 8, 2011

My daughter went to this school for 6 years. Outside of 1st grade with Sister Paula, our experience had not been a good one. There were definately favored students and mental harrassment and bullying existed without much effort to stop it by the faculty. My wife and I were very active in the school and sat on various committees, so it wasn't a situation where we as parents sat idly as our daughter went through her difficult times at St. Mary's. Mrs. Maskovich is a very inadequate principal that lacks vision, not to mention a backbone. It broke my heart to pull our daughter from St Mary's in 2008 and place her in a public school. Our faith is strong and we truly wanted her to finish in a Catholic environment. However, as we saw the school deteriorating, we had no choice but to withdraw our daughter. She is now going to Warren School in Highland and doing extremely well. Please, Fr. Mens, do something to stop the bleeding. There are children in our communities that deserve a good Catholic education. Please!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

There were pros and cons on sending my children to this school. Some staff did/do have their favorites. Some issues could have been handled alittle differently like science books being only available online and health being taught from notes of the teacher, no structured book. In certain classes I never saw test papers with corrections. My child told me what the grade was and that was the end of it. I called other parents to confirm as well. They do have a good online system for keeping informed of grades. My oldest (A-B student) graduated and felt very prepared for high school especially in math and history. My youngest loved the teacher from last year and has continued to progress in reading and math due to summer work. The school does involve the student body in various charity work. The school is not perfect, but no school really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

Horrible school... i can't believe it hasn't been shut down yet... They let the students do what ever they want like swearing in class and skipping classes and getting away with it.. Most teachers AND the principal favor students over others. The only good teacher that is not dense and seems to do more than the princapal is Mr. Starkey. Next time the school is inspected take a closer look at EVERYTHING. NO ONE knows what goes on in the school because the one time the teachers say anything is when inspection time comes.. The teachers are NOT great and some talk about students behind their backs to other students. The principal is VERY weak. I'm saying all of this because i went to the school and I honestly think that this is the WORST school I have ever saw.


Posted June 30, 2010

AWFUL school. I would definitely not recommend you sending your children to this school. The teachers are very rude,impatient,and some are even unqualified for their position as a teacher, Most of the teachers have no control what so ever over the students. Some classes are horrible and rowdy and the teachers don't control it.The school has gone downhill since Principle Rebecca Mascovich has run it. Most teachers and the principle favorite students and neglect others. People might tell you different opinions but I have gone to this school for nine years and i can tell you,continuing to go there is one of the biggest regrets i can think of.


Posted April 27, 2010

St. Mary School has a great sense of community spirit, which was just displayed in the fundraiser for their school's secretary, whose husband has been ill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

St. Mary School is a great family/Christian based school. The faculty is excellent and the school's ISTEP scores are always high. All of the former students and parents I've talked to have said how well prepared students were for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

Poor discipline, and overall a poor school where a quality education is not received. I walked into high school behind in almost everything...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2005

My child graduated from St.Mary 3 years ago, and I have to say it was one of the best decisions i have made to send my child there. the teachers there are great and really care about the student's education.(like Mr.V and Ms. Rolls) there are extracurricular activities like art, music, computer, gym. sports include: basketball, volleyball, track and soccer. overall i have to say that St.Mary is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 74%
Hispanic 26% 7%
Black 7% 12%
Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Multiracial 2% 4%
American Indian N/A 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 1%N/AN/A
Special education 6%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Rebecca Maskovich
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (219) 922-2279

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Gary
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 North Broad Street
Griffith, IN 46319
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 924-8633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT