Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
288 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary School 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
From the principal down to the faculty -- Gina Carroll particularly, can both benefit from Cultural & Diversity training. How unfortunate Jim Crow is still alive within this "Catholic" school and racism is perpetuated. Nonetheless, what goes on in the dark will always come to light. This school will not receive my hard earned money next school year (2016-17) resulting from such appalling issues.

St Mary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
From the principal down to the faculty -- Gina Carroll particularly, can both benefit from Cultural & Diversity training. How unfortunate Jim Crow is still alive within this "Catholic" school and racism is perpetuated. Nonetheless, what goes on in the dark will always come to light. This school will not receive my hard earned money next school year (2016-17) resulting from such appalling issues.


St Mary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
From the principal down to the faculty -- Gina Carroll particularly, can both benefit from Cultural & Diversity training. How unfortunate Jim Crow is still alive within this "Catholic" school and racism is perpetuated. Nonetheless, what goes on in the dark will always come to light. This school will not receive my hard earned money next school year (2016-17) resulting from such appalling issues.

St Mary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
From the principal down to the faculty -- Gina Carroll particularly, can both benefit from Cultural & Diversity training. How unfortunate Jim Crow is still alive within this "Catholic" school and racism is perpetuated. Nonetheless, what goes on in the dark will always come to light. This school will not receive my hard earned money next school year (2016-17) resulting from such appalling issues.

St Mary School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
I love the education & morals it provides for its students! Im proud to be a part of such a great school.


St Mary School 1

Posted April 06, 2014
- a community member
I went to school here for 10 years. Many of the great teachers retired by the time that I got to the junior high (such as Mr. V). There were definitely favorites students. The kids acted like they ran the school over the teachers and never acted like they cared about the religion whatsoever. None of the children even attend mass outside of the school. But in the 8th grade many teachers went from being very kind to being very rude and talked behind many students' backs. They need a new principal. The science program is also very poor. Going through high school I had to learn many things that I should have in grade school. There were some pros to the school though. Mr. Starkey was one teacher who genuinely cared about the students. He always was around to help with homework or just talk things out if someone was being harassed. He solved things the right way. He didn't let things slide. More teachers should be like that. This school needs to step it up and give the children the real catholic education they deserve.

St Mary School 1

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
Office staff , certain teachers, and above all the Principle Mrs. Maskovich are VERY VERY RUDE!! Principle Mrs. Maskovich is very rude by not greeting ALL parents and blatantly turning up her nose to you. If your child is not head of the class or an honor student, she and certain teachers will pay no attention to your child. The Diocese should look into these complaints in order to ensure keeping Catholic schools open and thriving!! I cannot express the amount of disgust I have for these people mentioned!!

St Mary School 1

Posted January 04, 2014
- a community member
This is the worst school ever. Don't send your kids to school here. There is a bad principle who gives out the Wi-Fi password to her favorite students. There is a lot of bullying in this school..The teachers here have a lot of favored students. There is a lot of students espically in the Junior High that say bad words and put up the middle fingers at the teachers when they are not looking. If you are thinking about sending your kids to this school don't do it.


St Mary School 1

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went to this school for 6 years. Outside of 1st grade with Sister Paula, our experience had not been a good one. There were definately favored students and mental harrassment and bullying existed without much effort to stop it by the faculty. My wife and I were very active in the school and sat on various committees, so it wasn't a situation where we as parents sat idly as our daughter went through her difficult times at St. Mary's. Mrs. Maskovich is a very inadequate principal that lacks vision, not to mention a backbone. It broke my heart to pull our daughter from St Mary's in 2008 and place her in a public school. Our faith is strong and we truly wanted her to finish in a Catholic environment. However, as we saw the school deteriorating, we had no choice but to withdraw our daughter. She is now going to Warren School in Highland and doing extremely well. Please, Fr. Mens, do something to stop the bleeding. There are children in our communities that deserve a good Catholic education. Please!

St Mary School 3

Posted August 13, 2010
- a parent
There were pros and cons on sending my children to this school. Some staff did/do have their favorites. Some issues could have been handled alittle differently like science books being only available online and health being taught from notes of the teacher, no structured book. In certain classes I never saw test papers with corrections. My child told me what the grade was and that was the end of it. I called other parents to confirm as well. They do have a good online system for keeping informed of grades. My oldest (A-B student) graduated and felt very prepared for high school especially in math and history. My youngest loved the teacher from last year and has continued to progress in reading and math due to summer work. The school does involve the student body in various charity work. The school is not perfect, but no school really is.

Nearby schools

St Mary School
525 North Broad Street, Griffith, IN  46319
(219) 924-8633
Last modified St Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top