Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henryville Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 678 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2013

My daugther has been part of this school system now for 4 years. We have always had great sucess with her and her teachers in the past. This year, the 6th grade teacher she has had is completely inappropriate. She picks on the children she doesn't like, she belittles them in front of the class and calls them names. I have address this issue with this teacher and with the principal. The teacher did respond and apologize, but the principal did not addresss the emials or concerns at all. Though the teach apologized, she has not changed her behavoir. In my experience, the leadership is weak and doesn't pay attention to the concerns of the parents and shows no initiative to correct these bad behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

Thinking of you all .... From Christchurch, New Zealand .... Your story featured on our National news after the devastation tornadoes wreaked through your region ... Kia kaha (Be strong) Kia maia (Have courage) Kia manawanui (Have heart)


Posted February 23, 2009

I believe that the school board and principal are more worried about themselves than they are worried about the children that are supposed to be getting an education and not getting harrased and mistreated by their teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

We just started at Henryville. I have one daughter in the high school and one in the elementary and we love both schools. The principal at the high school is absolutely wonderful. I've not had a chance to meet the elementary principal yet, but we love Mr. Riggins, who teaches my daughter. Not only is he very organized, but he responds quickly to any questions and seems to genuinely care whether the student is doing well. I've had similar experiences with teachers at the high school, who respond quickly and with a caring attitude. We love the counselor at the high school too. She's been fabulous! We've tried public school, private school and even homeschool and Henryville is among our top choices. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I hate this school I have two daughters that go to HES and they have had nothing bit trouble. My children are teased ridiculed and are suffering due to the lack of controll the teachers and others have over the students .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My oldest son is starting his 3rd year at HES and every day I grow more concerned. The teachers seem to find it difficult to deal with a smart child who,if not kept busy, becomes bored. This boredom often leads to mischief and the child suffers.Special programs are formed for the child who needs extra help, why not special classes for those who excel beyond the norm?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

Mr. Riggs is doing a great job.I would recommend this school to anyone I know. They have a very helpful staff Most all teachers are nice and seem to really care about the kids.More teachers aids needed bad.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 21, 2006

I hate this school and would not recomend it to anyone at all! My friend and I are teased ridiculed and are suffering due to the lack of controll over the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2006

I am severely disappointed in the school and most of the teachers.They don't enforce the rules enough to keep trouble and suspensions at a minimum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2005

I'm afraid Henryville is going downhill. The principal lacks respect for the students and is not a good role model for students or teachers. Many of the teachers are very good, and hopefully they will not be too discouraged by the poor choice for principal. Henryville offers virtually no extracurricular activities for the students. The art teacher is great but the music teacher leaves a lot to be desired and has now become the band instructor as well. That's too bad. The previous instructor was great. By far the biggest problem is the principal. Too bad he didn't learn more from the previous principal during the year he spent as the librarian, before being given the job as principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Henryville Elementary is a small school with relatively small class sizes. Unfortunately, it offers few extracurricular activities. The new principal (2004,05 year) leaves a lot to be desired and lacks the qualities needed for a good elementary principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

As a parent of a student at Henryville Elementary, I would recommend Henryville Elementary. We have a great group of teachers at our school. I would like to see more parent involvement but with many parents working I know that is hard. Our principal is new to our school and has not found his feet yet. We hope that this will change as time goes on. The West Clark Community school board is a joke. If you would ever need to go to them about anything you should know that it is worthless. Also, be prepared to look for a new school as your child reaches jr. high. Once you leave the elementary the quality of teachers goes downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 72%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 12%
Multiracial 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A46%
Special education 18%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Glenn Riggs
Fax number
  • (812) 294-4940

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

213 North Ferguson Street
Henryville, IN 47126
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 294-4806

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT