Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Highland, IN
Students enrolled: 314
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 2

Posted June 06, 2012
- a community member
As a previous student of Johnston, I am not pleased. Shows of favoritism shown by the teacher,principles,and other staff. In all respects, I believe all students, should be taught in an environment balanced. Not whether your the last name of Maxwell,Johnson,or Garica.

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
Johnston is an awesome school wth wonderful leadership and excellent teachers. That is why it is the number one school in Highland.


Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
I have a student going now and a future one attending soon. Maybe coming from Chicago public schools makes me rate higher but it's a huge difference and I'm happy my kids get to go to this school instead of Chicago or Hammond.

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary
no rating

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
Well, moving from Calumet City IL to Highland and being new to the Indiana school systems, which I've heard great things about, hopefully this will be a drastic change for my children ranging from 8, 10, to the oldest, 15 and 17 (HHS) because their school administration was just horrible and not serious about the children's EDUCATIONAL NEEDS! So we shall see. So far, I am pleased with the administration and staff of the Highland schools. I children are again, excited about going to school and much more eagar to learn! PLEASE KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK HIGHLAND!

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary
no rating

Posted December 09, 2008
- a parent
This school was with quality and so was the staff,they scored great on the I step tests and it has a good educational program for kids it is a very good school.


Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 5

Posted August 04, 2007
- a parent
I have 2 children that attend Johnston Elementary and I have been very pleased. The kindergarten through second grade teachers have been excellent. My children love going to school and I credit the teaching staff with this. I was allowed to be a parent volunteer in my daughter's kindergarten classroom on a weekly basis. My daughter's teacher was very easy to talk to and patient with the students. I live close to the school and I know the kindergarten teacher works long hours. This really opened my eyes to what hard work it is to be a teacher. I am so thankful that my children are attending a wonderful school.

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 4

Posted December 29, 2006
- a parent
The new leadership at Johnston school is great. The new principal has taken a hands on caring approach. Most teachers are good at keeping parents involved. One problem seems to be office communication with the rest of the staff and parents. However the school is a one of the best in the area. I would like to see a little more emphasis on math and science. From an honest parent.

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 1

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
This school is very unorganized. We have tried getting a meeting with the principal for days with know response.


Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 3

Posted August 18, 2006
- a parent
I feel Johnston is very unorganized.

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary 2

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
I am very disappointed with the academic and safety aspect of this school. My daughter had problems getting a chance to read, I sent letters to the teacher because every week your child should read their book and then receive another. This happened several times and my daughter graduated kindergarten with the same book she received the week before spring break she had the same book for 10 Weeks! When I accompanied her on her field trip they did not assign children to chaperones(They sure did when I was in kindergarten) The kids were basically going around unsupervised because the parents did not know all the children. I will go on all fieldtrips!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Judith Morton Johnston Elementary
8220 5th Street, Highland, IN  46322
(219) 923-2428
Last modified Judith Morton Johnston Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Judith Morton Johnston Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top