Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John I Meister Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 239 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2013

This school has some teachers that could ruin your day in about three to four sentences but overall it is a great school. It is a shame that some of the best teachers retired 2 days ago. I just got out of Elementary school and i have to say this was the best one out of the three i went to. The other two i went to are Liberty Elementary School in Hobart, IN and Crisman Elementary School in Portage, IN. They were both good schools but Meister was the best. P.S. a lot of the kids here have a rumor about how Henry S. Evans kids have lice but i don't think that's true. It has great sports programs and have some good learning centers for your kids. Great school like i said.


Posted October 5, 2009

All 4 of my children have either attended or still attend and I couldn't ask for a better set of teachers, principal, or school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My son went to Meister from 2004 - 2007. He loved it there, I was on the PTO and I loved it there. Ms. Wojcik really cares about the kids. What a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My son started kindergarden at meister.When you walk in the school in the morning everyone is smiling and they greet you.They play relaxation music which I like.They really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

It is a nice school, the bad part is that it is overseen by a mismanaged group of individuals in the River Forest school system, it needs to be incorporated into either the Hobart School System or the Lake Station School system, until then this school system has it's own sets of rules and guidelines that may hurt a child's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

Due to a job transfer to the area, my child had to attend this school. My first experience with the school was quite negative and I was not looking forward to his first day. I was however, very pleasantly suprised. Upon arrival, the principal personally meet with us and reviewed my child's transfer paperwork. My child was personally escorted to the classroom by the principal where the welcome nearly brought tears to my eyes. Since then I have enjoyed the open door policy of the school and have had all my phone calls and questions promptly answered. As a result of this dynamic staff, my child, who was once an average student, is now thriving. I will update when the ISTEP test result arrive within a few weeks but I have every confidence that they will be better than ever. B+ for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

My 6 year old just started grade K in Meister and so far I am very pleased with the teacher and the staff. They are all very helpful and caring people and the school is kept very clean. They seem to take all possible measures in keeping the students safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

John I Meister Elementary School is one of the best elementary schools in Indiana. The teachers there are very positive role models. Even though the school has changed alot since the passing of Kenard Richardson or Mr. Rich, the school still passes on the values that he taught and they continue to provide students with a positive and clean learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 10%
White 45% 72%
Black 4% 12%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 13%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Nancy Wojcik
Fax number
  • (219) 962-1459

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Jay St
Hobart, IN 46342
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 962-1103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Francis Xavier School
Lake Station, IN



Liberty Baptist Academy
Lake Station, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT