Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Forest Jr-Sr High School

Public | 7-12 | 646 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

River Forest may not have the best technology department, new resources, or a variety of classes. But, we are a family. A family that looks after each and one another. I feel it is not the schools fault, but our own state funding is the problem. The State of Indiana cuts out millions of dollars from Education every year, that is the real problem. I love this school, but I don't want to see it close in the future. If you are an involved parent, please call the state. That is where the real problem begins and the student and staff, pay the price. I am currently attending River Forest as an 8th grade alumni and planning to graduate, then proceed to Ball State University.


Posted August 21, 2013

This school is not up to par. They offer the opportunity to go to the Career Center but the kids are responsible for their own transportation there and back. That's Crazy! How many 10th graders are driving cars? Why offer it to them if you can't provide transportation? If there are buses for the normal school day, they could have provided one bus for the other student who wanted to explore other talents. Every other school in the area that offers the Career Center option, provides transportation and River Forest should be no different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This school is a complete laughing stock of the region, almost as bad as Lake Station schools. the quality of education has declined over the years, and the push for students to achieve better opportunities when they graduate is non existent. You would be better off home schooling your children instead of sending them to this school. There is a reason why all of the good teachers are retired, almost retired, and/or moved to another school district. The only 2 instructors in my opinion that care about the students is Mr. Whiting & Mr. Burton, other than that the majority of them don't care. Most of the good teachers have retired or taken better opportunities.


Posted April 2, 2012

I dont even go here and just by saying its close to gary explains alot to me!


Posted May 10, 2011

i am 1964 graduate of river forest. was proud to say so. but when my daughter went there it was less the school i went to. now i have two grand kids there the school does not help the special kids who need it. they are kept segregated from the other children, teachers just dont care any more. i am not proud of my school any more


Posted October 2, 2010

As an alumna who had attended River Forest for all four years, I can say, without a trace of uncertainty, that the high school is far below the academic standards that is expected of any educational facility. Students who struggle are left in the back rows of class while students who excel are limited to the few honor classes that are provided. There is a small number of teachers who put an honest effort into their work, but without the support of their fellow colleagues, these dedicated teachers are forced to deal with students who are permitted to slack in other classes. Also, if the subjects are continually being 'dumbed down' then the standards are bound to fall, and the hopes of achieving a college degree, or even the hopes of attending a college, are thrown out the window.


Posted September 27, 2007

I agree that River Forest is a great school. Before Mr. Wielgus got there children with problems were kicked out of school and not given much of a chance. Now, those children are worked with and given the opportunity to be the best that they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I disagree with the negative assessment of this school. Mr. Weilgus is a very innovative man and really seems to care about all of the students at RFHS. The teachers have provided my children with a quality education. While the sports teams have had a tough time, the coaches work with the kids as people and I like that. The other extracurriculars are very good as well. River Forest gets and A+ from this parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

As a parent of a RFHS graduate and another who has transferred out, I feel the overall academic and extra curricular clubs at that facility are below standard and since they have failed to meet Indiana State Board of Education and their AYP (please see web site for INSB), the school is on academic parole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

I am a proud graduate of River Forest, K-12. While we may not be the most affluent school, nor do we have state of the art technology; the faculty and staff are second to none. I am now about to graduate from Anderson University with a degree in social work and doing what makes me happy. The lessons I learned at RF along with the diversity and creativity that comes with being in a school with a lower income has provided me with lasting insights and views that shape for the better the way that I perceive the world. Education is like anything else, you get out of it what you put in. I thank everyone who has helped me come this far at RF, your efforts do not go unrecognized. Thanks!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 21, 2005

Unfortunately I am a graduate of this school and offer a little advice to the administration. I feel if the administration focused on academics instead of sports you would have more parent involvement and higher academic accomplishments. Other factors include favoritism to those in sports or what family name you carry. We wonder why kids are bullied or favored- its the school that promotes the problem. Fortunately, if the young adults are smart they can get out and become successful without the help of the school and you wouldn't have to wonder why more than half of the graduates stick around the community after graduation and amount to nothing. My advice to future graduates- After high school, go to college and lead a successful life. You won't have one if you stick around that community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 10, 2005

I'm not a parent ,but a student at River Forest Sr. High School. I don't see how anyone can write anything bad about our school when they don't attend or work at that school. My school went through a very difficult time with our school beings et on fire. However, My teacher helped my friends and me to keep our head high and continue on. We studied even harder and worked together to make the most out of our condition. Our teachers are always challenging us with new things. So please, Give us the benefit of the doubt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2005

It's funny how someone writes how bad the schools is, yet doesn't use proper grammer or spelling. Maybe you need to use your time studying, instead of making excuses.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2005

This School realy does no goo[d] for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2004

Overall the other students are good, however, the upper administration appears to be self-serving. Questioning their rule is harshly dealt with. Most other parents are also in the same financial and economic lifestyle and generally are 'salt of the Earth'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
19%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

60%

Average SAT score

869

Graduation rate

77.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
52%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
44%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.3
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
19
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
59%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 72%
Hispanic 43% 10%
Black 5% 12%
Multiracial 3% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A46%
Special education 16%N/A14%
English learners 11%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Indiana Street
Hobart, IN 46342
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 962-7551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Francis Xavier School
Lake Station, IN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT