Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Hobart, IN
Students enrolled: 646

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


River Forest Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
I would also like to add that half of the reviews here are not even grammatically correct and as a seventh grader at this school I seem to have better grammer than most of the adults who posted comments about this school!

River Forest Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
River Forest may not have the best technology department, new resources, or a variety of classes. But, we are a family. A family that looks after each and one another. I feel it is not the schools fault, but our own state funding is the problem. The State of Indiana cuts out millions of dollars from Education every year, that is the real problem. I love this school, but I don't want to see it close in the future. If you are an involved parent, please call the state. That is where the real problem begins and the student and staff, pay the price. I am currently attending River Forest as an 8th grade alumni and planning to graduate, then proceed to Ball State University.


River Forest Jr-Sr High School 2

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
This school is not up to par. They offer the opportunity to go to the Career Center but the kids are responsible for their own transportation there and back. That's Crazy! How many 10th graders are driving cars? Why offer it to them if you can't provide transportation? If there are buses for the normal school day, they could have provided one bus for the other student who wanted to explore other talents. Every other school in the area that offers the Career Center option, provides transportation and River Forest should be no different.

River Forest Jr-Sr High School 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a community member
This school is a complete laughing stock of the region, almost as bad as Lake Station schools. the quality of education has declined over the years, and the push for students to achieve better opportunities when they graduate is non existent. You would be better off home schooling your children instead of sending them to this school. There is a reason why all of the good teachers are retired, almost retired, and/or moved to another school district. The only 2 instructors in my opinion that care about the students is Mr. Whiting & Mr. Burton, other than that the majority of them don't care. Most of the good teachers have retired or taken better opportunities.

River Forest Jr-Sr High School 1

Posted May 10, 2011
- a community member
i am 1964 graduate of river forest. was proud to say so. but when my daughter went there it was less the school i went to. now i have two grand kids there the school does not help the special kids who need it. they are kept segregated from the other children, teachers just dont care any more. i am not proud of my school any more


River Forest Jr-Sr High School 1

Posted October 02, 2010
- a community member
As an alumna who had attended River Forest for all four years, I can say, without a trace of uncertainty, that the high school is far below the academic standards that is expected of any educational facility. Students who struggle are left in the back rows of class while students who excel are limited to the few honor classes that are provided. There is a small number of teachers who put an honest effort into their work, but without the support of their fellow colleagues, these dedicated teachers are forced to deal with students who are permitted to slack in other classes. Also, if the subjects are continually being 'dumbed down' then the standards are bound to fall, and the hopes of achieving a college degree, or even the hopes of attending a college, are thrown out the window.

River Forest Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

River Forest Jr-Sr High School 4

Posted December 05, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


River Forest Jr-Sr High School 1

Posted November 01, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

River Forest Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
I agree that River Forest is a great school. Before Mr. Wielgus got there children with problems were kicked out of school and not given much of a chance. Now, those children are worked with and given the opportunity to be the best that they can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River Forest Jr-Sr High School
3300 Indiana Street, Hobart, IN  46342
(219) 962-7551
Last modified River Forest Jr-Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
River Forest Jr-Sr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top