GreatSchools Rating

Douglas Macarthur Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 607 students

We are best known for building hearts and minds
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2013

I am glad we are getting a new principal here. We experienced a 2nd grade teacher at this school who bullied my child, and Mr. Craig did not take this seriously. The woman who bullied my child seems to have a mental problem, has severe mood swings, little patience, and should not be working with 7 year old children. My child had never had a problem with another teacher. I pray that this year she will be blessed with a better teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This is my first experience with Perry Township schools so I was not sure which elementary school to send my Kindergartner to. I am so happy that we chose Douglas MacArthur as our school. My daughter gets a first class education and plenty of teacher/student attention. She has made wonderful friendships and has truly bonded with these skilled educators. I strongly recommend this elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

I have a child in DM. While I admit the school is not a pit into which children fall and never come out, I'm torn when seeing the record of the township on Special Needs students. This school in particular does not handle special education well at all! They aren't alone in the district by any means, but it was a disappointment in this case. The way they teach responsibility is fabulous, and Mr. Craig is a caring man. Any problems DM has I would say are township wide issues. The problem is Perry Schools. They are becoming sub par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

Duglas MacArthur is a wonderful school. Education, safety, respect and accountability are all high priorities when it comes to MacArthur. The teaching staff is both wonderful and consistent. The principal, Mr. Craig, knows each and every child by name and truly cares about the education they receive from MacArthur. I strongly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

I absolutely love Douglas MacArthur! I transferred my daughter there from private schooling and have never regretted the decision. She has flourished at DM. The principal, Mr. Craig is absolutely fabulous. He treats the children with respect and discipline. A wonderful mentor! The teachers are fantastic. There isn't a bad one in the bunch! They take pride in what they do and it shows. From the instant you walk in the front door to the time you walk out, you can feel the warmth and comfort that sets Douglas MacArthur apart from the rest. This is a superb educational facility. Switching to DM was a life changing moment for my daughter. I thank God everyday for this wonderful place and the people who make it possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Douglas MacArthur is the best school in Perry Township. My daughter attended there k-5 and loved it! The children feel cared about and are missed when not there!! The principal takes the time out to learn every childs name and can put it with their faces. This alone makes the children feel very important. Douglas MacArthur also have many opportunities for parents, students and staff to come together in fun and educational events. The school also focus's on the Nature of things, which helps our children to respect our environment, learn about our environment, and work hands on in the schools garden. This school is highly recommended!! We miss it greatly!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

I have had 4 children in this school over the past 8 years. This is a wonderful place to learn and grow. The teachers are superb and the principal is top notch. Parental involvement abounds! The school is safe and the curriculum is adequately suited to meet the needs of the children. I have yet to find something to complain about with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My step-son went to this school for two years, and my son has been going there for the last three years since he started first grade. My husband, the kids, and I have nothing but good things to say about Douglas MacArthur! The curriculum is challenging enough to keep the children interested and learning, but not so difficult that they get frustrated. The class sizes are relatively small, only 23 in my son's third grade class! The teachers are just wonderful, and the principal is the best! Parents are encouraged to participate as much as they can with lots of opportunities for volunteering. The school has a very positive community atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 72%
Asian 14% 2%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Black 4% 12%
Multiracial 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A46%
Special education 8%N/A14%
English learners 12%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chin
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:40 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs Starlena Hardimon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 865-2679

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chin
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • DT Gym
  • Drama club
  • Recorder Club
  • SADD
  • Spell Bowl Team
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • Brown and gold
School mascot
  • The Generals
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Perry Meridian 6th Grade Academy
Perry Meridian Middle School
Perry Meridian High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

454 East Stop 11 Road
Indianapolis, IN 46227
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 789-2500

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Christian School
Indianapolis, IN


Suburban Baptist School
Indianapolis, IN


St. Barnabas School
Indianapolis, IN





Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download